ISP Woes

Wouldn’t you know it. Plans for last Sunday evening included email correspondence and leisurely reading blogs.  I settled into my chair, computer on lap. What’s this? No connection? For unknown reasons the servers supplying the wireless broadband in this community are not functioning. After a couple years of relatively fast internet reverting to dial-up is excruciating. Aggravated by a very slow dial-up connection of around 26kbs, if we’re lucky.

The person who owns the T1 line is in the final throes of getting his house built: final inspection this Thursday, builders took six weeks longer than initially projected, they’ve been “camping” these past several weeks while doing everything they can to expediate the process (and save dollars) as well as working full time. Providing internet service is a type of hobby sideline. Understandably taking any time to try to figure out what’s wrong is not high on his priority list. Really, I am trying to be patient and understanding, especially after talking with him Monday evening and realizing he’s on the edge of exploding from so much stress. Still… It’s very hard to be efficient with the online time when we have only one phone line and a business to run – doing a kind of tap dance between being online and off so phone calls can come through. Loading and downloading messages and webpages creep slower than a slug.

The Broomstick Lace Hourglass Jacket is coming along. The body is finished with only the sleeves left to do. I’d love to wear it to the Knit and Crochet Show taking place at the Portland Convention Center this Saturday when Ed and I are going to be at Stitch Diva’s booth signing crochet hooks and knitting needles at noon.  Please stop by if you’re in the vacinity!

Work on Ed’s vest has slowed to a crawl since my fiber time has been mostly devoted to the Hourglass Jacket. (I’m not even going to attempt to load any pictures today.)

Yesterday Faith and Wesley spent the day with us.  I got next to nothing accomplished work-wise, and I admit I was relieved when Justin came to pick them up when he got off work. But the joy of being with them outweigh my pursuits. Faith is such an agreeable, adorable child when she’s here. And Wesley is a cuddly, happy baby who seldom sees a need to cry unless he’s tired or hungry.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “ISP Woes”

  1. So sorry to hear about the ISP woes, makes for very frustrating times.
    Heh… a day with the little ones… you know how I feel about Faith, I’ve been looking forward to hearing about Wesley and oh what a blessing, a cuddly and happy baby!
    Have fun at the show! Hopefully your ISP woes will be gone soon.

  2. Oh dear, I would go crazy with such a slow connection, but do you remember when even that slow connection was amazing? Seems a lifetime ago! I would love my grandchildren to come and stay, they just soothe me somehow. Good luck with the show, I’d definitely buy a crochet hook to be signed by you!

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the connection issues! I miss reading your blog 🙂 You sound busy and healthy otherwise, and like there’s lots of good family time, which is all good. Travel safely to the show!

  4. Oh, I feel your pain. We had a lightning strike nearby three nights ago and are still recovering all of our lost electronics. Internet is vital for my hubby’s work, as well, so it’s not been fun.

    Glad to hear there have been some bright spots in your week!

  5. What a pain about your ISP -still the fast connection will seem all the better when you do eventually get it better. I loved the tale of the wedding and the crafts with the children was heart warming. Wish I was closer to be able to buy a signed hook from yourselves – hope you enjoy the show!

  6. glad to hear that you are fine, and things are just …slow going….

    I understand completely! Looking forward to seeing your FO’s when the time is right….

Comments are closed.