Potential Projects

It’s sobering to realize that 20 days have passed since the last posting. Too many project deadlines invading my regular evening computer time.

The tencel/merino spun up beautifully.

50/50 Merino/Tencel from Crown Mountain Farms, Chasing Rainbow dye, colorway Madrona (I think. The tag is long missing)
2 ounces = 160 yards
16 WPI

This has been measured out and sleyed, meaning that I’ve threaded it through the reed which is a device on a loom resembling a comb and used to space warp yarns evenly. (Someday a post will be devoted to weaving and the various terms.)

I had planned to weave the entire vest with the corriedale/camel yarn with random streaks of merino/tencel in the warp to give it a bit of spark. Did you hear my groan around the 11th? I discovered that I’d forgotten to tally in the amount needed for weft which meant there was only enough yarn for the warp.(huge groan of dismay) Back to the spinning wheel with another 4 ounces of the dark brown corriedale wool. Several days later and another 250+ yards of yarn, still not nearly enough. Ransacking through the stash I found the perfect treasure!

Do you see that gorgeous smushy grey in the upper left of the picture? Authentic organic Irish wool straight from the Emerald Isle and Jo. It had been languishing, waiting for a very special use. I’m so tickled that it will be part of Ed’s vest! The four different yarns that will make up the vest are pictured above. The dark corriedale is a bit hard to spot under the tencel yarn.

Since the vest was still being assembled on the loom come the 24th I scrambled to make something for Ed’s birthday the next day. At night he empties his pockets and puts keys and the odd coin into a plastic container. Potential for a great present for change.

Saturday, the 23rd, we’d gone to The City of Books (aka Powell’s Bookstore) in Portland for a book fix then stopped by a yarn shop where Ed snagged a ball of Nettle Yarn. Yep, yarn made from nettles. At first I tried crocheting a basket (sans pattern) from the nettles but the yarn is stiff, bumpy and very uneven. Digging out various bits of my handspuns I devised this just in time to gift Ed on his day.

The nettle yarn was used on the turning rows.

What else have I been up to…My first attempt at Broomstick Lace! Destined for someone special.

Last week Ed and I were activity engaged during our local church’s Friend’s Kids’ Days (VBS). Ed helped with crafts and made paddle wheels for the kids to paint which they then raced during activity time on the last day. I got to oversee, organize, and teach. We’d been put in charge of directing the VBS this year. It was great fun, totally exhausting and at times very chaotic when the rain poured down on the third day and everything was taking place inside our little church.

But oh so worth the time to make a difference in some of these kid’s lives. To hear a boy declare that he can hear Jesus whispering in his heart during a dark night, “Be Brave, it is I, don’t be afraid” fills our hearts with joy and gratitude.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Potential Projects”

  1. I was just thinking about you the other day, wondering what you were up to! Glad to hear all is well. :0)

    I so love the yarn you’ve been spinning, you always make me long to get back to my wheel.

  2. Faith, I think, is mostly about the little stuff: comfort when we awaken from bad dreams, the money that miraculously appears to pay a bill you weren’t expecting, a stronger connection to the Creator through the act of creating.

  3. There you are, I’d been wondering and hoping all was well, and you have been Busy! Your merino/tencel handspun is Gorgeous, such pretty colours, and LOVE the combination of yarns you chose for Ed’s vest!
    Broomstick lace! it’s rather like your hairpin on a much larger scale? That brown colour is so very pretty.
    VBS… now that looks like fun! for everyone! and how wonderful for that little one to discover the comfort of who and what is in his heart.
    xox

  4. Don’t worry, Wanda, I have not updated my website since August 5th! And the picture I posted was actually painted in 2007! I haven’t even been taking photos, since my camera died. Your yarn is lovely. I can’t wait to see a picture of Ed wearing the vest. VBS looks like it was great fun, but more important, seeds of faith were planted in the childrens’ hearts. Did you get to make any pies or applesauce with your Gravensteins? My mom gave me her old applesauce maker, and I’ve been using it.

  5. You have been busy! I’m so glad to hear that the Kids’ Days went well — I know that it was on your mind πŸ™‚ The spinning looks absolutely gorgeous, I love the colors you’ve chosen for Ed’s vest. I can’t wait to see how it turns out πŸ™‚

  6. That tencel/merino looks beautiful–very well done! It will weave a fabulous piece of cloth!

    The kid’s day sounds like it was fun!

    Nice to hear about what you have been up to!

  7. I too am very remiss with blogging lately but you are in my thoughtsoften . Strangley amongst all my other tasks I too am spinning yarn to weave a vest with and my main fibre is brown corriedale with some art yarns here and there. Looking forward to seeing your too
    Sounds a great day with the kids

  8. Goodness me; I’m impressed! Beautiful yarn, beautiful work. And good to hear that the still, small voice of the Lord is still audible amidst the noise of life today!!

  9. love the tencel/merino yarn, the sheen is beautiful. I have not purchased an Ashford Traditional wheel and I am itching to get going on it. However, moving, work and visitors are slowing me down a bit! Oh for some more time!!

Comments are closed.