Blueberry Walk

Today was perfect for picking blueberries. The scent of rain lingered in the air from a light rain that moved through during the night, everything appeared clean and fresh. All the rain we had during June has produced an abundance of fruit.

A beautiful drive across a ridge and back down into the Willamette valley brought us to a family farm staffed by pleasant, helpful teens. After weighing our buckets my friend JH and I set forth down the rows in search for the perfect spot. JH’s daughter is getting married this Saturday and she’s planning to serve fresh berries along with the cake. Lots of fresh berries. I believe the time spent picking 25 pounds provided a pleasant pastime for both of us.

The summer of my eighteenth year I spent several weeks with a family, daily riding my bike to a blueberry field where I picked berries for the fresh market, berries that were bound overnight for NYC. I never was as fast as the farmer’s granddaughters but the work was gratifying. Fresh air, sun, working at your own pace always trying to beat the previous day’s pickings. Until that summer I wasn’t fond of blueberries. Now cereal would be sorely lacking without blueberries.

This little girl loves them too. She put more in her mouth than in her mama’s bucket.  They were in the next row over happily chatting up a storm.

View on the way back over the ridge.

The Corriedale/Camel Yarn is finally finished, skeined and set. Details to come.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Blueberry Walk”

  1. I can smell the fresh warmth from here! I adore blueberries, in fact I have them on my breakfast most mornings. Usually in the form aof a compote, some low fat greek yoghurt and some granola. Delicious!

  2. That looks like a wonderful time! I just lcoated a U pick near here, and I’m looking forward to picking some berries to freeze for the winter. :0)

  3. Blueberries are so good in everything! We like them in homemade pancakes. They are very nutritious too, with lots of antioxidants. Yes, bears like them too! I made a lovely blueberry pie for my new husband when we were just married. It did not turn out. Oh, is there supposed to be some sauce around the berries? My pie was a tambourine. What a lovely time Faith and her mommy must have had.

Comments are closed.