Socks, a scarf, and some spinning

Two finished projects!

Finally the Brigid Socks where kitchenered, finished and given to the recipient. They had been tossed in both the washer, cold water, and in the dryer before modeling for the picture.

Pattern: Brigid
Yarn: Ball and Skein sock yarn, Mountain Spring Colorway. Handdyed, 80% Merino, 20% Nylon 4 ply – 400 yds.This was great sock yarn with nary a knot and plenty of yarn left over. A person adept with cabling could easily add a couple more pattern repeats without fear of running out of yarn. This was my first attempt at cabling and proved a good pattern to get my toes wet. πŸ™‚

During last week’s morning business sessions a scarf was born. It came off the needles this afternoon.

This scarf was knit straight from silk hankies using US10/6mm Jenkins needles. A woman had demo’d this technique at the spinning conference in June.

It was the perfect project for business sessions where I needed to pay attention yet wanted to accomplish some knitting. Each hankie is carefully peeled away from the stack then pulled into a long thin roving and knit. The trickiest part was pulling each hankie to a consistent thickness. Then again, that’s part of the scarf’s charm. When the packet of silk hankies was gone, the scarf was done.

I also did some color spinning on my Turkish spindle last week.

80%Merino, 20%Mohair a combination for long lasting socks. The spindle currently have two split lengths of a yard. I’ll spin one more onto the spindle with the same color sequence, then try to spin three matching splits on another spindle and ply them together with the goal of the colors matching. This is harder for me than I’d first thought it’d be. Some sections get drafted just a bit thinner than others and over the long haul the colors don’t neatly match up.

Plying the corriedale/camel should be finished by tomorrow evening. I’m in a bit of a quandary: the bobbin is almost stuffed and I don’t think that all the singles will fit, yet the singles are getting to the surface of their individual bobbins. I’ve never spun this much yardage in one batch and I’m very reluctant to break the singles and start another bobbin. Any advice is welcome. I’m grateful to Freestyle Jo (you must take a look at the cute booties she’s made!) for letting me know that spinning around 8oz would most likely take me over 10 hours. It helped to know that I could expect to spin for that many hours and that I wasn’t plying excruciatingly slow.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Socks, a scarf, and some spinning”

  1. Beautiful socks, and that scarf!!! Wow! Those colours!
    Kate (katessheep) showed us how to take a layer off a silk cap, stretch it out, then using your hands, ‘spinning’ it… fun!
    Your colour spinning :^), SOOO very pretty, the colours are soft yet vibrant, and good luck with getting those to match when plying :^)
    (you can do it!)

  2. I love the Brigid socks. What a great cabled pattern for the yarn. SHow more of the scarf. What a fabulous way to knit it. I haven’t dyed or knit from hankies. It looks like something to go on the short list.

  3. Love the silk hanky scarf! Can I ask – what was the weight of the packet of hankies that you used? (trying to figure out if I can copy you!)

  4. Lovely socks and scarf Wanda :). Thanks for passing on the tip about knitting with hankies!
    Also I have given you the Arte Y Pico award for inspiration to blogland. (Check my blog for deatils)

  5. That’s a gorgeous pair of socks! Great way to use those silk hankies, I always have a few of those around! When I did the handspun mittens (in my rav projects) that yarn was spun like you are spinning your mohair merino mix, don’t worry too much about it not quite meeting up though, it blends the colours together quite charmingly, I’m sure you will see this for yourself once you start plying! Thankyou for the kind words, I’ve got a tiny bit of fibre left before I start plying 4oz of fingering weight, myself!

  6. That silk hankie thing is definitely calling me. The colours are so beautiful. But I must keep working on the baby blanket I’m making for a friend. Must not get distracted by other charming projects! I have actually never tried cable. I don’t know why. Perhaps I thought it was too hard, but I’m sure it really isn’t. The socks are lovely.

  7. That silk hankie thing is an amazing idea — I may have to try that someday when I get more confident πŸ™‚ The socks look gorgeous! You’re clearly a natural cabler. As to the spinning, I don’t know that I’ve ever spun that much, either, so I have no good advice to offer.

Comments are closed.