Page Minder and Meetings

Getting ready to celebrate the friend’s 50th birthday I spun a bit of fiber. (Remember the Tour de Fleece? Yep, still spinning along.)

7 Yards at 22wpi, a size 6 crochet hook, and a couple beads did the trick. A Page minder:

Making page minders from fiber to finish is a quick, satisfying project. Just what I needed during the long slog of plying the corriedale/camel yarn. No, it isn’t finished yet! Other things have demanded attention.

After returning from the beach it was hard to change gears from very relaxed to almost total engagement in high. Our Jenkins Turkish Delight Spindles are a big hit among spinners and orders have been flying in. Ed completed a number of orders which were packed and shipped by Friday, for I am away from home most of this week.

The annual Yearly Meeting of Northwest Quakers is taking place at George Fox University, so the other representative from our small Scotts Mills Friends Meeting and I are staying in one of the dorms and attending sessions and workshops. It’s been a great week so far, with wonderful meetings with Tony Campolo as the main speaker. Of course there’s the usual business sessions occupying the entire mornings. Excellent knitting and spinning time. 🙂 I completed spinning one color sample on a Turkish Delight, wet set, and measured out 26 yards. Who needs a niddy-noddy with a handy 18″ towel rack? And I’ve been knitting a small silk scarf. Pictures later in the week. I’ll be escaping for an hour or so tomorrow to take an order of shuttles up the valley and over a ridge to Carlton, home of Woodland Woolworks.

A couple weeks ago Faith was entranced by a baby bird that poked its head out of the bird house.

I owe emails to several of you which I hope to be able to attend to before this week is over. Please know that I love and appreciate all of you!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Page Minder and Meetings”

  1. You make such pretty yarn and love your Page Minders ;^)
    Love the photo of Sweet Faith, seeing the focus, don’t you just love watching them seeing things new… the good things…

  2. I’m not having much lck with photos working today so will have to come back, but oh how I want a Turkish Delight, they’re just sooo sweet!

  3. What a wonderful picture of Faith! And I love the page minder; I’ll have to try that sometime as a quick project. I wonder whether i-cord would work… Do you use a particular pattern, or wing it?

  4. Ohhhh…knitting straight off with a hanky, I have to try! The colour is beautiful. The spun yarn on the spindle looks so inviting too, no wonder you keep doing it! I will ask Jo for some tuition, I get all panicky trying on my own!

Comments are closed.