Fields of Flowers

Ascend the hill and drift through the dip

Round the curve, just a mile away

Bright colors march across the field.

A violet banner among the greens and gold

Catches the breath of those who wander.

Only a brief walk today to snap the flowers.

Day five of Tour de Fleece: plying for an hour first thing this morning, and another hour this evening as we watched a short dvd.

Total Plying time so far: 4hours, 10minutes. The first couple hours (slow learner!) I struggled with consistent tension, speed and feed-in. While I may be rounding out a second year of spinning, most of it has been done on the spindle. Sitting at the wheel and plying endlessly feels like a new experience. Spinning has been something I do more for the joy, rhythm and contemplation rather than for actual production.

It’s sobering to find out I’ve actually only spun enough yarn for a couple different projects in the past year. (Not counting yards and yards of silk for bookmarks and bracelets.) Confession time: I have yet to knit with my handspun; the two batches of sock yarn I span were given to friends.  Discouraging. This Tour de Fleece is giving me excellent focus on a couple goals.

First,  ply all the corriedale, camel. Second, spin a spindling for color skein for socks that I will knit.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Fields of Flowers”

  1. Wow, I’m impressed! with you AND the larkspur! I hadn’t read your tags, just looking at the photos and asking myself ‘what ARE those’, and larkspur kept coming to mind, then I saw the tags and indeed, heh. I don’t think those grow in our neck of the woods….
    Go go go!

  2. Gorgeous flower pictures! What a lovely sight to enjoy while walking 🙂 The spinning is sounding good, too — I’m Tour de Fleecing as well, although I gave myself a break while travelling (I brought the turk along, and spun for a couple of days, but then it got overwhelming, what with packing up and moving each day, so I cut myself some slack). But now I’m home, and inspired by those riders, and by your lovely plying — thanks!

  3. I was thinking of lupins or purple loosestrife. War has been declared on purple loosestrife in Ontario, as its been classified as an invasive, noxious weed. You’re not to even think of growing it in your garden. I’m glad that’s not what’s in your beautiful picture. Is that a garden nursery farm? It’s stunning.

Comments are closed.