Spinning de Tour

(Edited July 7 Apparently this post, written on the 5th, didn’t get “published”. It wasn’t until I was stats that I realized the oversight. Meanwhile, I’ve put in 1 hour, 10 minutes of plying over the past couple days.)
Get Spinning!
2008 Tour de Fleece has begun
Tour de Fleece
Tour de Fleece

For the second year I’m attempting the steep hills and sharp curves of the Tour de Fleece. Though the wheels (and spindles) are set in motion today, anyone can join at any time.

Dark Corriedale Single

My challenge this year is to first ply the chocolate corriedale single with the corriedale/baby camel single.

Corriedale and Baby Camel

I’ll get into gear with this easy spin, then it’s on to spinning up some of the woefully neglected stash. My goal this Tour de Fleece is to spin all the variegated merino roving that’s been worked on in spurts and bits for the hairpin lace ruana started too long ago.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Spinning de Tour”

  1. It’s all looking wonderful and beautiful… Remember the ‘Spinning Song’? was that the name, a very fast piano piece I learned as a girl, a very good tune for spinning I’d dare say!
    Good luck!
    XOX

  2. I’m not in the Tour de Fleece ’cause I don’t know anything about spinning. But someday I will, because I would someday like to try spinning sock yarn. I guess one needs to start with purchasing a spinning wheel. That, I guess, requires a whole education in itself.

  3. I want to spin for the meditative feeling that surely must come with it? Then I want to ply it and then admire it…I don’t want to learn on itchy scratchy yarn, I want to do the luxury stuff from the start…I know I am bad, but that is how I am…I love your lavender photos too…perhaps I should just stick to knitting!

Comments are closed.