Growing Season

Ed has been wanting to plant heirloom, non-hybrid seeds, an internet search brought up:

Victory Seeds, a family run seed business that turned out to be in our area. I sent the order and the next day the seeds were in our mailbox. I love that the seeds are packaged in a small zip-lock bag inside of the paper packets, any seeds left over are carefully sealed and stored for next year. There was also an information sheet on how to properly store the seeds over time. We’re very pleased to have found this great seed company. All you who love gardening, take some time to browse their site.

For the past week or so I’ve gotten into a rhythm of working in the garden or yard at least an hour every day but Sunday. It’s been good to putter around watering, pulling weeds, mowing, even tackling the blackberry brambles that threaten to overtake home and shop. (Seriously)

Sugar pea tendrils reaching for the light.

Dew crowned Brussel sprout leaf.Dew Drops

Tomato Leaves

Rippening Montmorency Pie Cherries under the waning moon.

Ripening Cherries under a waning moon

A slow deep watering Saturday morning before the thermometer reached 100 degrees, now every thing is rapidly growing.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Growing Season”

  1. Mmmmm, butternut squash…
    I’ll be checking the site out for sure. I’m not growing food this year (sunny spots woefully lacking) but next year I’m thinking large containers on the back patio, it gets the most sun… and that I’m looking forward to!
    Your plants all look wonderful, fresh! and mmm, cherries. What kind of tomatoes?

  2. Yay! Love gardens almost as much as the deer love to eat my garden….Glad you found a seed company you like; looks like things are photosynthesizing right along!!

  3. Relieved to know that it isn’t just West Cork that suffers from rampant brambles! By the way, did you know they can be used for weaving and also for fencing? I really must try that sometime with the monster cables we have here masquerading as innocent brambles.

  4. thanks for the link to a great seed company – I only wish that I had a sunny place to do a veggie garden.. unfortunately, the only sunny spot in this yard is right by the road. (not the best for edibles)
    I shall enjoy yours vicariously.

  5. Lucky YOU! Having Victory Seeds nearby 😉

    I have been very satisfied with their wide selections as well as their results in my garden.

    AH~ Your Montmorency under the waning moon is a beautiful image!

  6. I definitely need new glasses and/or more Latin. I read the botanical name for the squash as “Cucurbia masochista”

  7. Beautiful pictures! I love gardening almost as much as fiber-ing! 🙂 And I love the heirloom varieties best. Right now I have the purple-flowered snow peas blooming and later I shall have purple-flowered pole beans.

  8. I love gardening too. In B.C. I had a big vegetable garden and a Stella sweet cherry tree. Every summer we stuffed ourselves with the most delicious cherries. I miss gardening, but my current property gets almost no sun. Yum, butternut squash. And brussels sprouts! Enjoy your gardening time. That peaceful time in the garden is good for the soul, as well as good exercise.

  9. What beautiful photos! I love the sugar-pea tendrils… really different.

    I love gardening, too, used to grow everything we ate except our meat. Kinda hard now that we live in an RV in campgrounds 😦

Comments are closed.