Warp Woes

Saturday afternoon at the loom proved a disaster.

The warp had been threaded through the heddles and sleyed through the reed at 6epi, the ratio I normally use for weaving rugs. But this time I’d threaded the linen warp in a 2-1 pattern (two threads through a single heddle, then one thread through the next) threading through shafts 4 and 3 with the next thread suspended between shafts 1 and 2. Something felt wrong.

At the end of February I’d spent some time with Mr B who weaves magnificent weft-faced rugs using the shaft-switching technique. Having never taught the subject he wasn’t adept at teaching the concepts, nor was I able to actually sit down at his loom and work through the process with my hands. I purchased the recommended Jason Collingwood dvd which I’ve watched numerous times but there are still crucial gaps. (And Mr B. has significantly modified JC’s process. Mr B had JC in his home this past May, I’m curious as to what JC thought.)

Saturday I set out to re-sley the warp to 4epi. Once the warp was set at the correct 4epi I went to the back of the loom to remove all the extra, miscalculated warp. Leaning forward something caught my eye. What in the world? A missed warp thread?

Scooting the loom away from the wall to get behind it and disentangle the wayward warp, I tried to find the loose warp end but it continued on around the beam, under and over other warp threads. My heart sank.

Somehow a thread had gotten wrapped around a section of the warp then threaded and sleyed along with the others, thoroughly mucking up the works. The entire warp needs to be unsleyed, unthreaded, unreeled from the back beam and evenly spread out again. One huge advantage is that the lease sticks are still holding the cross so it won’t be the total nightmare it could have been. In fact this may turn out to be a very good thing in the long run for I’d been fretting that the beamed warp didn’t seem to have equal tension across the warp.

Feather’s swears she had nothing to do with the errant thread! (see June 18th post)

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Warp Woes”

  1. Oh, no! All that work… As I don’t weave, I can only imagine how much more time you’ll need to put in to set things right!

  2. As I’ve never gotten to spend time with a loom I was completely lost throughout your post but I can feel your ‘pain’… good luck with that, and I know you’ll take it slow and sure and all will be well :^)

    Ooh, I’m sure Feathers had nothing to do with that… she wouldn’t have done that to her Grandma! look at that sweet innocent face…

  3. If indeed it was Faith who messed up your loom, the sweet innocent child sure couldn’t have done it on purpose. I loved all the new words I learned from your post. Now I just have to find out what they mean! I would have loved to spend a weekend totally devoted to all things sheep. I would have been there with my camera, for sure, taking dozens of pictures.

  4. I agree with Marjorie; that was quite the vocabulary lesson!
    It’s always nice to have help…when we actually need it! The cats have been trying to “help” me paint the inside of the house.

  5. Don’t you just love that “who me?” look in her eye?? (huge grins)

    And if you totally re-do that, I give you sainthood award of the weavers year. Me? I’d get the scissors..

  6. I’ve not seen June the 18th post yet so I can’t comment…Feather looks like an angel, she wouldn’t have? Would she? All that work Wanda, your heart must have sunk :^(

Comments are closed.