Black Sheep Gathering

Friday Ed and I took several hours off from work to drive down to the Black Sheep Gathering.

Okay, he’s not black, but such a rich, dark chocolate coat and he was so big compared to most of the other sheep, had such a captivating face, he’s my representative for the BSG. I didn’t write down his breed, which was posted above his pen, thinking that I’d remember such a thing. I didn’t.
He was either Romboulliet or Romney.

We arrived shortly after 10 am and soon met up with Granny Linda from the Siskiyou Spinners who’d driven up the day before and set up camp for the weekend. It was great meeting her and spending the next couple hours hanging out together as we walked the aisles gazing at all the fiber goodies.

We stopped a bit at Woodland Woolworks booth and chatted with owner Diane, and employee Wanda. Wanda has several of our shuttles and is also the happy owner of some of Ed’s Turkish spindles. Ed wanted to surprise her with one of our new Baby Delight Turkish spindles that he’d made for her.

Linda lead me astray from my well laid plans of buying only some rug yarn, she’s the one who saw these bags and thought it’d be fun to dye and spin the cocoons.

2 ounces of Silk Cocoons with a packet of soda wash and instructions on what to do with them.

MC, wanna come play some day with dyeing them?

One booth had some lovely throw rugs woven from the vendor’s llamas. I had to stroke and admire them, contemplating that it’d be nice to buy one. We like to support vendors, knowing the long, often hard hours put into preparing, setting up and selling at these shows.

We ended up in the sheep barn in search of a sheep raising, spinning friend of Marianne from Oklahoma. Though we found one pen with Teeswaters sheep, which is what I understand Kate to raise, sadly we found no trace of Kate. 😦

I briefly stopped and watched this class of fine looking Jacob sheep.

By that time Ed’s back was aching and he was having a hard time remaining on his feet. Car rides are the bane of his back, even when he’s the passenger, which is almost always. So though I loved the idea of following Linda across the creek to her campsite for some good spinning time, it wasn’t to be. I’d love to meet up with you again. Maybe OFFF? 🙂

On the way out I snatched up a cone of tencel and a cone of bamboo. Just couldn’t resist such great buys with thoughts of weaving some curtains and maybe a shirt or two.

We headed to the car, stopping to chat with a driver who sported the bumper sticker, “War is not the Answer”, Ed has one on his pickup bumper. Popping the trunk to throw in the cones of yarn I spied Ed’s purchase for the house:

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Black Sheep Gathering”

  1. Oh crud! the photo of the rug isn’t showing!
    I don’t know that Kate was taking her sheep with her, just her fleeces/fibre… oops, sorry.

    Sounds like a wonderful time and can’t wait to see how you dye those beautiful little silk cocoons!

  2. now he’s a honey isn’t he? I love the look of those silk cocoons, look forward to seeing what you do with them! A fine day out I reckon!

  3. Yay, Ed!!!! Hope his back has recovered and that you’re not too overwhelmed with all of the “potential” you now have in your possession!!!!

  4. It sounds like you both had an excellent time, although I know just how painful a bad back can be! (I hope Ed feels better soon.) Excellent rug 🙂

  5. Thanks for the tour of the BSG! It looks and sounds like it was great fun ;-)!

    …and I esp. like seeing what caught your attention and came home with you, nice choices!

Comments are closed.