Safe / At the Creek

The Family of Four (see post below) were rear-ended this morning while stopped during road construction. A young man wasn’t paying attention and didn’t see that traffic had come to a standstill. J saw him barreling towards them and stomped on the brake hoping the impact wouldn’t send them into the car ahead. It did. Their Honda was accordianed, babies strapped into car seats in back, J&M in front. M’s seat buckled and broke. Miraculously no one was seriously injured. J&M are getting more stiff and sore as the hours wear on but we’re all so extremely thankful the babies and parents were unharmed.


The WeeOne at fourteen days.

And Feathers, who was enthralled with “helping” me warp the loom.

Sad to say, I’ve made little progress beyond this stage. The plan is a linen warped, weft faced rug – my first.

Walk With Me Wednesday and gaze at Butte Creek , taken just around the block from our house.

EDITED:6.19 I hadn’t realized that the youtube video had lost the sound, and the picture quality was poor. Will try again. In the meanwhile will a couple pictures suffice?


After taking the mail to the PO I wandered on down to the creek for a moment’s reflection and saw these ducks only when the female stood up and flapped her wings. Running back home I snatched up the camera. By the time I returned they’d settled down and the colorful plumage of the male had faded with the shifting sun.

Moseying on upstream a ways I was slightly astonished to see these and ran onto the bridge for a better shot:

Little did they realize who’s peace they were about to disturb.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Safe / At the Creek”

  1. Oh dear. I’m so glad to hear everyone is alright, whew…. now to get my heart rate back down.. which the video certainly helped, now that’s my kind of creek. Loved watching the light dance over the water.
    WeeOne.. what a beautiful strapping lad!
    Feathers? sweet. She looks very focused there!
    :^)

  2. Very glad everyone is okay; I pray the soreness will dissipate quickly. The creek certainly helps with the pulse rate, that’s for sure, though the adorable newborn is great, too!

  3. I’m so glad the family of four is safe and said a prayer for their continued protection. Too many distracted drivers on the road….we must find a way to turn that trend around.

    Wesley looks like such a pleasant little guy!

  4. Oh my~

    Thankfully everyone is ok, cars can be replaced~

    still…a very upsetting experience I’m sure!

    Thanks for the view of Butte Creek

  5. Oh my goodness. I am so grateful that everyone is OK — what a terrifying experience, especially with two small ones in the back!

    I can’t wait to see how the rug turns out, and I love the pictures of the ducks 🙂

  6. O. M. G.

    I am sooooo glad everyone is OK.

    Thank God for child/infant safety seats. To think that when our first child was born, the GM Love Seat was the newest thing and you had to special-order it…. We’ve come a long way.

    Kiss J&M and those grandbabies for me.

  7. When I was a kid, my dad ordered seat belts and installed them. Cars didn’t come with them. Yours truly was almost always standing up in the back seat. I thought my parents spoiled my fun by strapping me in. None of my friends’ cars had these fun-spoilers. I remember when my baby brother came home from the hospital, my mother was holding him on her lap. I could see him over the back of the front seat because I was not sitting down. Anyway, what a scary experience but I am so glad Wesley, Faith and parents are okay.

Comments are closed.