Mostly Spinning

Last weekend we were vendors at the NWRS conference. It was great to get out among spinners and fiber people. Our Turkish spindles were well received though sometimes it was hard convincing people that yes, you can spin lace-weight yarn. One woman trying to decide which spindle to buy was concerned about the weight. She liked spinning fine yarn. Finally I handed my spindle that I’d been spinning very fine silk on for bookmarks. As soon as she spun it she fell totally in love with it, exclaiming over the balance and ease of spinning the silk. After spinning a few yards she asked what wood it was, then the price. She really wanted it. I let her know she could buy it. Then she asked that lethal question, “How much does it weigh?” I shouldn’t have answered. As soon as I said, “2.5oz” she put it down as fast as a hot coal. She ended up buying one that weighed 2.1oz but even as I wrapped it she glanced back at the silk laden one.

We set up across from Susan of Abstract Fibers, a terrific fiber dyer and a fun person to be around.

Susan’s booth assistant and spinning friend, Gail spun an amazing amount of yarn during the four day conference. She’s only been spinning a few months. Another delightful person!

I missed the best photo opt of the packed circles of spinners scattered all across the middle of the large gymnasium Thursday and Friday. By Sunday, when I finally got my camera out, many of the spinners had already packed up headed for home.

I was able to take a Friday morning workshop on spinning for color with sock yarn. Great class though there wasn’t enough time to cover all the steps and details the instructor had planned to walk us through. I did learn to Navajo ply on my spindle! 🙂 And I’ve been playing around with spinning dyed fiber in various ways to emphasis or bring out different color schemes.

So far I’ve managed to spin up a couple samples. On the Baby Delight I spun the tuft of sample fiber Abstract Fibers, Susan, had tucked in the welcome bag. Since it was a very small amount I spun it fine and used the center pull method to ply back on itself. This ended up being 28wpi after plyed, set and dried. The Baby Delight has the plyed yarn; singles still in process on the big Turk below.

From the roving we purchased in the class I split my long repeat patterned dyed roving in half crosswise then split each of the halves into six thin rovings. I’ve spun two of the matching splits starting at the red end ending with the blue then joining the blue to blue and spinning out to the red.

Today, while waiting at a hospital during a friend’s surgery, I finished spinning that sample and plyed the ends together, again using the center-pull method, with the intent of matching the colors. My spinning wasn’t totally consistent so there’s some overalpping and barber-poling but on the whole I’m pleased. I need to take it out of it’s soaking and put it on the warping board to dry and measure.

Would you like to see Wesley at one week?

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Mostly Spinning”

  1. Would I like to see Wesley, why yes, he’s such a delight with that great hair! sounds like the conference was good fun too! I love my Jenkins turkish!

  2. aw! You got a new grandbaby while I was on vacation….he is soo adorable! Hugs and kisses to him!

    The yarn looks so pretty on the spindle, I would almost hate to use it…. 🙂

  3. Isn’t it amazing how babies can sleep anywhere, no matter what’s going on. He looks so contented, and just look at those cheeks. He’s adorable. Give him a cuddle for me please.

  4. Wesley is adorable!

    So nice to read about your time at the conference, it sounds like you had a busy- but fun weekend!

  5. I’m amazed he’s ever put down; how huggable are babies?!?!?

    Beautiful spinning work; I enjoy reading about your adventures with that. Once again I am overwhelmed when I contemplate all of the collected knowledge of that little corner of craft called “spinning” through hundreds and thousands of years. I’m so grateful for those of you who continue to share that legacy.

  6. Wesley, he’s so beautiful… and what a ‘manly’ looking little dude! :^)

    The conference sounds wonderful…
    now see… ‘numbers’ don’t really mean that much to me (perhaps they should more) re: spindle… I would’ve gone with my intuition and the experience. You may yet hear back from that particular lady. :^)

    Apparently bloglines has been misbehaving, it only just now alerted me to your post…sigh. Your blog isn’t the only one either…
    XOX
    (more thunderstorms and rain this morning)

  7. It sounds like a great conference, both for your business and for your own spinning! Those yarns are looking lovely (the colors are amazing). I’m taking my turk with me to NZ with some roving specially bought for travel — I can’t wait to see what I can do with it 🙂 Wesley is amazing, I love seeing the pictures.

Comments are closed.