Family of Four

I’ve been scurrying around trying to cram three days of work into one. When we applied to be vendors at the Northwest Regional Spinner’s Association Annual conference we’d assumed that Wesley would be born well before the date and we’d have this week to fully get ready. I’d been printing books, copying dvds and preparing some fiber samples. But having Faith for most of the last five days put me behind in everything. The postmistress was surprised when I kept laying packages to be mailed on the counter, it’d been awhile since we’d mailed that many in one day. We’re heading into a long weekend starting tomorrow morning. The booths are to be opened from 8:30am – 11pm each day. It’ll be interesting to see how well we hold up, especially Ed who normally is in bed by 9pm. To add to that, he’s been off his feet since Saturday when allergies blew up into a severe sinus infection. There isn’t much that keeps him out of the shop for a few days but he’s been sleeping for the majority of time. Tonight he felt as though maybe he’s finally starting to kick it.

Oh, you want to know about the baby?

Wesley finally arrived late Sunday evening, only 12 days after he was predicted to come. Mom and baby are healthy and well. He weighed 8lbs, 8oz.

With daddy about an hour after birth:

Faith had been staying with us since Saturday as well as Friday. Since she and Ed were sound asleep when the phone call came, I left a note and dashed to town to see the newborn son.

The next morning about 10 we took Faith in to see her little brother. On the whole she mostly ignored him and only showed a brief bit of curiosity. She sat next to him only long enough for a couple pictures then scooted off the couch. She stayed with us until late yesterday.

About 12 hours old:

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Family of Four”

  1. Oh my Wanda, he has a beautiful head of hair, and Faith looks quite the young grown up lady in coparison, time does fly, it seems like only yesterday she was a newborn!

  2. Well certainly we want to know about the baby!!!!

    Congratulations!
    Beautiful boy! So grateful all are doing well…
    and I hope the conference goes well, and that Ed is feeling better already…

  3. Yes, that is quite a pile of hair Wesley has. With a little gel, he could have a cool spiky “do”. I hope Ed is feeling better soon. I know, sinus infections are nasty and never seem to just go away, at least for me anyway. I always need antibiotics, which I really don’t like to take. It sounds as if things are kind of crazy at your house. I hope you get some time to relax soon.

  4. Well, I’m very unhappy with bloglines, it didn’t pick this up… I just had that feeling to check over here and glad I did!
    busy busy!
    I hope Ed’s recovery starts moving faster… does he ever use a neti pot? I had a sinus infection this past winter, even with very little salt in the warm water, stings like the dickens but it seemed to really help. I also found it to be Very Weird… but I continue to use it when necessary.

    Would you look at the head of hair on Wesley! Mercy! That’s just amazing! (can you tell we have mostly bald headed babies? :^) hee.
    He’s a beautiful baby boy.

    Sweet Faith :^) it’s good to see her again, I’ve been missing her. Give her some hugs and nuzzles from me, mkay?

  5. (Grr… Bloglines hasn’t been updating!) I love the baby pictures — such a head of hair he has! (My girls didn’t have that much hair until they were two…) It’s wonderful that Faith had such loving grandparents to ease her into big sisterhood, although I know that it meant a lot of catch-up for you all before the show đŸ™‚ I hope Ed’s feeling much better.

Comments are closed.