Still Waiting

Wesley is now 11 days past the date the doctor thought he’d come. Mandy’s been having regular contractions every six and a half minutes since last Tuesday. The doc told her they’d induce this evening at 5pm. The kids dropped Faith off here on their way to the hospital this afternoon.

The 48 bed local hospital has garnered a couple national awards including top 100 in the nation. They had so many people from all around the area come there to have their babies that the hospital built a birthing center about five years ago. Then more people traveled even further distances for the great facilities, excellent staff, and super food. They even pass up a major hospital in Salem to use this place. In a town with less than 10,000 people there were 1742 babies born last year. We’ve heard the pace it above that this year. Which means scheduling to induce can be a dicey situation.

About 6 Mandy called to let us know that there were more mothers having babies with three walking in this afternoon and so they don’t have room/staff to induce. Terrible news when you’re so ready and the baby is growing by leaps and bounds. We’ve kept Faith anyway so they can try to have a decent night sleep. They were told to come back at 7am and see if there is space.

This evening Faith played with heddles as I tried to thread the reed. I wasn’t too successful. 🙂

I’ve been meaning to share this lovely quilt which was made and gifted to me by a dear friend JB. I just love walking into the bedroom and seeing this quilt brightening our somewhat drab room.

The strings ensemble’s year end concert went quite well this afternoon. The program was filled with  a good mix of lively pieces from Fiocco to Telemann, to Copeland’s Rodea Hoe-Down, with a couple of Bach duets in between. Playing in a string ensemble with various parts and voicings brings deep joy and satisfaction.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Still Waiting”

  1. oh dear, poor Mummy and oh hurry up baby!! I know the hospital wouldn’t put anyone’s life’s at risk by not doing an induction??? What a gorgeous quilt that is, you are so lucky to have received that as gift.

  2. Wanda, that quilt is beautiful, and I must say, that headboard has me swooning, did Ed make that? (btw, I don’t think your bedroom looks at all drab :^)

    Has Wesley arrived? Boy howdy, were WE off, by several days! That boy was just in no hurry, eh?

    My best to you all and hoping to hear the great news soon :^)
    XOXOXOXOXOXOX

  3. Oh, my, Wanda! The waiting is nervewracking, isn’t it? Maybe it’s over by now? I’ll be anxious to see your post that everyone’s OK.

    Thank you for your comments on my pictures of my newest grandbaby!

    I’m praying for your family and Wesley!

  4. Stopped by to see if there was any news… either there isn’t, or you’re too busy with that new family to post!

  5. Oh, I hope the baby makes an entry soon! It’s so hard to wait (especially for Mandy…). The quilt is gorgeous, and it sounds like your concert went beautifully for everyone 🙂

  6. Just about the hardest “wait” in life! Praying everything goes well..I was induced twice, so I sympathize.

  7. I do hope we hear good news soon! I hope everything is going well and that you’re enjoying time with the new baby now.

  8. Oh that waiting is just awful! My little one was late but not that much so my sympathies all round! Hope all is well and look forward to hearing news on the new arrival!

Comments are closed.