Walk With Me Wednesday

Morning broke wet, grey and chilly but by noon the clouds were scuttling away. While walking with Ed to check out the state of the two houses being built a couple blocks over, I noticed a neighbor’s wisteria blooming. Back home to grab the camera and head out for a walk to the Maple Tree.

The tree is entangled by wisteria vines and during a very short week or so, the tree drips with blossoms. A show not to be missed. No flowers yet. Closer inspection reveals the buds.

On the way back home I can’t resist a short detour down a bit on embankment and through the tall grass and scattered wild camas bulbs sprouting their blue flowers on this damp hillside. Local Native Americans considered the bulbs a staple in their diet. Warning! Only the bulbs of the blue camas may be eaten, the white flowering camas are poisonous.

Heading back across the bridge I must stop to be mesmerized until a car interrupts the quiet contemplation.

Ed would rather have been down there casting a line in the water these past couple of days.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Walk With Me Wednesday”

  1. Beautiful photos, Wanda, thank you for sharing them! I’m not able to do much walking these days, so I appreciate the pictures even more than usual! :0)

  2. I have been doing quite a bit of walking lately, but there’s no lovely river or blue flowers (those are new to me.) My walks are good for my body, but there’s not much to look at except a lot of houses. So, not too edifying for the soul. Enjoy the wisteria when it comes out. I don’t see it much in Ontario although I think it does grow here. Perhaps it likes a milder winter.

  3. It looks like spring is really and truly settling in up there (finally!). I love wisteria — it’s one of my very favorite first signs of spring 🙂

  4. Hey, guess what? This weekend past was the NH Sheep and Wool, and we took my mother in law, a new knitter with us. She wanted to get a drop spindle, so we had her try a Bosworth, and she did all right with it, but she said she wanted to try something different. So I checked every booth for a Turkish, and I finally found a few, and lucky enough, they were yours! It wasn’t ready to spin, like other spindles were, so I got it ready. I’m showing her and another friend how to spin with a Turkish, I look up, and I have an audience. I did a demo for the group, and a few of your spindles walked over to the cash register 🙂 My MIL got one, and so far, she’s loving it 😀

    Beautiful pictures! But it seems that your feed has been taken over by the wordpress techblog.

  5. Loved walking with you once more – thanks for taking us all along.

    The wisteria is in full bloom here in West Cork now, and every day I marvel at its beauty. You make me see the beauty of Oregon through your words, and that is worth a great deal.

  6. *sigh* I’m still “walking” by your blog to have a few peaceful moments gazing at the river. I love moving water!

Comments are closed.