Three Sentences

A couple days ago John Carlton wrote an article titled: You, the Movie, tell your story in three sentences. This is a fun exercise which I plan to incorporate periodically in my blog.

Three Sentences: A story:
The plan was to spend predawn hours writing before the non-stop day with two young children sapped any creative energy. Quietly stealing into the kitchen for that wake-up cup of coffee, my heart fell at the sound of daughter’s cheerful voice heralding the day. A light sleeper with radar ears doesn’t bode well for early morning writing solitude… I took up running.


Hood to Coast ’85

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Three Sentences”

  1. I love it! What a great story (and as the mother of equally radar-eared daughters, I know EXACTLY what you mean)(except that I took up sleeping in…).

  2. Love this, Wanda! Funnily enough, I’ve been thinking of taking up running, myself. Obviously not now, but maybe in a few months… I’m so not the runner type, but I’m feeling the need to challenge myself in an out of the box kind of way. :0)

  3. Oh yes, my children would hear me sneaking around in the morning too. My mom once asked me what time I got my children up in the morning. She seemed shocked when I told her I never “got them up.” I just let them sleep as long as they wanted! That way, at least I had a chance of sleeping in myself once in a while. When you are a mother, things you previously took for granted, like sleep, become rather precious!

  4. my life is always like that, I love this post and may well use it myself one day. Love the backlit photo of you running 🙂

  5. Wonderful story! I can relate to the light sleeper–I have two, but I’ve just given up and learned to deal with the happy chirpy voices (way too early) in the morning…

  6. Oh, wow! Can I do that? Put it all in three sentences? It might make me a lot more focused on the essential. Sheesh, I can’t even keep a blog comment to three sentences….

Comments are closed.