This and That

ARGH! Why can’t blog servers leave well enough alone? I was just getting comfortable with the WordPress format. But now? I hardly recognize the posting pages. I’ve been resisting using Flickr or any other photo places. Why should I upload pictures to Flickr, then turn around and “reload” them onto the blog when I could simply load straight to the blog. And now this format isn’t recognizing the pictures that I earlier prepared for this post. sigh. I suppose I’ll have to give in, I need to put them in Flickr sometime if I want to really get into Revelry.

Yes, I finally signed up on Ravelry last month. The invitation came in July! Fiberjoy’s the id. I’ve done a bit of exploring but haven’t had time to get very far.

Our taxes are almost done, only the state section left to do. That’s on tomorrow’s list. As is packing and mailing a dozen+ orders, posting a few new spindle pictures on our website, then editing and uploading to youtube a video I took today of Ed turning small knitting needles.

Two weeks ago I resolved to set Wednesday’s aside for weaving, sadly it’s not happened. Stay tuned to see if there’s any new development in that area. I’ve been debating about attending a Jason Collingwood workshop at Fiber in the Forest in mid-May. I’ve watched his video on shaft-switching and spent several hours with a person who has woven many fine rugs using a shaft-switching technique that he developed. All the half-heddles are made and in place and I’ve designed a pattern for a small rug.

The timing of Aurora’s trial caused our family to miss the memorial service for a close cousin who was more like a grandfather to our kids. It was sad to miss the gathering of relatives from Canada, California, Arizona, and Minnesota. Honestly, I’m not sure if we’ll see the MN cousins again in Oregon as they mostly came to visit Don. Cousin Don was the last of the direct ties to the Minnesota people. We have been removed by years, miles, and differences in ages. There is one living brother left of my dad’s six siblings. He will be 98 this year. My sister, who attended the memorial service – as did my brother from Arizona, had a lovely time with the MN cousins who informed her that Uncle Elmer and his wife had to be moved to an assisted living place this past year. Apparently their little house on the old homeplace farm had finally gotten to much for them.

I’m having a family gathering this Sunday with our kids, Don’s wife, Z, his oldest daughter, D and hopefully a niece and her husband whom we haven’t seen in a couple of years. It’ll be good to have an afternoon of catching up on each other’s lives.

The cold weather has continued but the weatherman says it’s about to change. Saturday is to be sunny and warm! Maybe I’ll finally get the yard mowed.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “This and That”

  1. Pingback: This and That
  2. So good to see this post and hear from you!
    I’ve been hearing a few woes as to the changes on your blog server… yargh… and I do know just how you’re feeling, getting comfortable, having learned what you need to know then… well, I do. It’s not like we don’t have enough to tend to, right?
    The weaving workshop sounds great! I hope you make it there.
    Here’s to Cousin Don, I wish him well.

    It’s definitely Spring here, although the past few days have been Very rainy and the temps chillier… I know it’ll be warm enough soon enough, I’m enjoying what we’re having.

    Your gathering for this next weekend sounds wonderful… making good times.

  3. Spring keeps teasing us here, too, with wisps of warmth, then clouds and chill. Definitely chill over the weekend; another freeze!

  4. Nice to hear what you’re up to – I’ve been thinking about you!

    Taxes can be such an ordeal, I’m glad for you that it’s almost over. Mowing the lawn sounds wonderful, it’s snowing here today! :0)

  5. Spring has really arrived here although the weekend is supposed to be chilly. But the sun is lovely and the snow clumps are mostly gone. I still very much miss my west coast garden where I would put in my peas in March! Here, nothing goes in the ground till the 24th of May weekend. You are so fortunate to have the moderating effects of the ocean nearby. I will enjoy watching Ed’s video.

  6. Woof. Aren’t servers a bear? I can’t wait to see the pictures whenever they get up. Meanwhile, I hope spring comes to stay, and that you have a lovely weekend gathering! We’re finally starting to get what I think will be more permanently warm weather here (although it was in the fifties all day earlier this week), and I’m looking forward to maybe staying in the 60’s for a while 🙂

  7. If not for the fact that computers are such a good research tool I don’t think I would spend time with them….well…except to check in on how my virtual friends are doing 😉

    I’ll look for you on Ravelry!

Comments are closed.