Spinning cotton

I’m learning to upload to youtube. A couple weeks ago Aurora helped me film a short video of spinning cotton to put online.

I continue to read and hear many comments that Turkish spindles are too heavy to use on delicate fibers such as silk or cotton. I’d been spindling for only a few months when I bought some natural colored cotton to spin. I failed miserably and hadn’t tried it since.

A month ago a customer asked about spinning cotton and it seemed time to give it another whirl. I’m happy to say that yes! I can spin cotton with my Turkish spindle, and to add extra weight to that fact, I used a 2.8oz spindle.

The video was taken of my third time spinning. I was still getting used to the very short fibers and spinning on a throw rug which slowed down the process. The video is just under 3 minutes long. It’s not fancy, I plan to learn more editing and adding music but for now, please take a look. πŸ™‚

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Spinning cotton”

  1. I haven’t gotten to watch the video yet, but I just had to say how much success I had spinning that lovely silk on my turkish spindle. In fact, wheel or no wheel, when I get more silk, it’s the spindle for me! I think that being able to slow down and manage the twist will help a lot with such a slick and delicate fiber πŸ™‚

  2. I watched the video and I think you did a great job (a smiling nod to Aurora also) you have such nimble fingers :^) and a great voice.
    Maybe not ‘fancy’ but definitely helpful and informative :^)

  3. It’s a great little video. I will say, though, that while I have a Turkish spindle, I pretty much never use it. As beautifully as it spins (and it does), the lack of a hook on the top drives me absolutely bonkers. Having to do and un-do that half-hitch on the top every time I need to wind on completely throws me off.

  4. Thanks for the tutorial! I have a mass of cotton fiber which has mocked every attempt to spin it, but I’m inspired to try again.

  5. No spinning here, but it’s fun to watch others! I’m just trying to get some birthday gift-projects finished up…life has invaded again and I’m busier than I’d like to be; not enough knitting time!

  6. Thanks for the video Wanda! Aurora did a great job of filming, and you did a great job of spinning! Thanks for taking the time to post it, looking forward to seeing more!

  7. I have never spun anything, but sometime in the future I hope to try it. Your video was fascinating, and made me think of a ton of questions to ask. What difference does the weight of the spindle make? And is the thread you spin called a single? And why not just use a spinning wheel. Is there a difference in the thread, depending on which one you use? See, I don’t know much, but I do want to learn!

  8. I’m with you Wanda, i think these people are spouting nonsense when they say that Turkish Spindles are not suitable for spinning finer yarns and short fibres, and it’s lovely to watch you demonstrating!

  9. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such nice comments. πŸ™‚ Darned Blogger won’t let me see email addresses, even though it requests them!

    You asked how the StitchJones yarn compares to Pagewood Farms. I like it a whole lot better. I have some Pagewood that I started using for a sock, but it’s been set aside. The base yarn StitchJones is using is really nice. It’s tightly spun and has a nice spring to it. I found the Pagewood to be a bit more prone to splitting and inconsistent in its twist with some spots much thinner than others.

    That being said, though, the dyeing in each is much different and I like the colors in each line of yarns pretty much equally.

    Thanks again for stopping by! Your blog is interesting and I sure wish I could live next to a stream and do fiber-related stuff all the time. Never say never, ’cause it could happen! πŸ™‚

  10. How can you come to my blog tempting me with your spindles, and then show videos like that. no fair! lol.

    I may just become a low whorl convert after this learning curve! and I have always loved to drool over yours. πŸ™‚

    I am so behind on your blog. I pray that the Lord blesses your daughter and you as well. Hugs!

  11. Wow. I just grew cotton this year and now I am inspired to try to spin it but have absolutely no idea where to begin. Should I try to find a class nearby? My fingers don’t seem to be very nimble though I did make a type of thread just by twisting the fibers with my fingers. Any suggestions?

Comments are closed.