Massive Knitting Needles

There’s always someone willing to push the envelope. Think outside the box. Get radical.

You want radical?

As in big knitting needles?

Beyond big.

Huge.

Big Knitting Needles

Oh, you’d like to see a bigger picture?

Big enough?

Variety of Knitting Needles

Another perspective.

Small differences?

Sizes from smallest to largest: Brittany US2/2.75mm DPN in the socks (no, Ed doesn’t make small dpns -simply not worth the wood and effort). The rest are Jenkins needles: US3/3.25mm 32″L circulars; US50/25mm 14″L straight needles14″long straight (measurement of actual working surface); set of 50mm 60″L circular needles and one set of four 50mm 14″L dpn. Do you think they’d qualify for the Guinness Book of World Records? hmm

When the special request came in for a pair of size 50mm knitting needles we immediately assumed she wanted US50 which are 25mm. Ed scrounged around in the pantry looking for a cylinder of the equivalent size. Ah Ha. A baby food jar! Yep, that was about the size she was envisioning for a design she had in mind. Thinking way outside the lines. I just received an email from her today and she’s over the moon about them. I can hardly wait to see the promised pictures of completed works!

Can you imagine knitting with those huge pieces of wood?

Housekeeping:
My Yahoo email seems to be misbehaving. (After nearly a decade of no problems with that account. boo-hoo) With the exception of a personal email early Sunday and another one this afternoon only listserve emails seem to be getting through. A couple weeks ago a listserve I occassional visit sent a warning about a vicious spammer who’s hacked into listserves (including that listserve) and stolen emails info. Monday a spam arrived inbox using MY email as the sender! Something to do with 75% off. I never send out emails like that. If I were ever to promote a sale I would specify the exact product, plus I’d use our business address, not my personal one. I suspect that now my addy is being aggressively filtered. As a result I set up an account with gmail. If you’d like my new address, leave a comment and I’ll reply from the new address. The annoyances of modern communications and staying a step ahead of culprits. šŸ˜¦

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

16 thoughts on “Massive Knitting Needles”

  1. I’m trying to imagine the arm muscles needed to *use* those!!!
    Good work, Ed!

    Me too on the address, please!

  2. My goodness! What would one knit with such dpns? Socks for giants?

    I’d love to have your new email address, if you don’t mind sending it on! šŸ™‚

  3. talk about ‘over the top’ ! they are cool (though I confess I cannot imagine actually holding them in my hand and knitting with them… it must be some sort of huge art project šŸ™‚
    and yes, I’d love your new address.

  4. I’d like the new address too, please! I know that I sent you an email recently, I think it was Sunday morning so I hope you got it. Now how would anyone knit on those honking big pieces of wood? And WHAT would she be making? Something very, very lacy, for sure. They are very beautiful, though, and so smooth.

  5. Wow broomstick knitting needles! Hmmm, my guess would be that she is knitting roving or top and then felting it. I bet it will look fabulous šŸ™‚
    Sorry to hear about the email problems, it seems to have been the month for them. Please send me your new addie!

  6. Wow, I’ve never seen such massive knitting needles before. I’d love to see what comes off those! Sorry to hear about your email problems, and I hope they’re all resolved with your change of address.

  7. Ed did a fabulous job on the “biggified” needles…I like to imagine they are going to a giant’s wife šŸ˜‰

    Please do reply with the new mailbox!
    thanks!

  8. ADORE the new chunky happy FAT needles ma’am! More please!

    It’s a bit distressing, this spamming and using your address business but I fear it is something to which we shall all have to become accustomed. I’m trying not to take it personally when it happens to me. It’s part of the price we pay for being able to communicate like this!

    Must tell everybody about these gorgeous new chunkies!

  9. where can i buy one of these needles for broomstick crochet. largest needles i have been able to get are 20mm and although it looks good it isn’t quite the effect i wanted

  10. Hi,

    Another question on a different post – your blog seems to cover everything knitting-wise I’m interested in – how can I get some? I want to make a massive blanket with some big kneedles but either my googling skills aren’t up to it or .. well, I suppose that’s the answer. Do you know where I can buy some?

    Thanks šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.