Spinning music, yarn and socks

Whew! It’s been awhile since I last posted, now I’m thrown a bit off balance from what I’d intended to post. Guess it’s time for an update on a couple finished projects and other tidbits of happenings.

First: My Learn to Spin with a Turkish Spindle DVD is finally finished and copies are going out the door. It’s the 28minute companion to my booklet. They are sold as one unit. If you’ve been wanting to learn how to spin, hesitate no longer. With our beautiful heirloom quality spindles that spin superbly, the book/dvd, and practice on your part you’ll get the hang of spinning in no time. 🙂

What else have has happened? Why, music! Crooked Finger Band had back to back Saturday night gigs. The first was a Valentine/spagetti dinner fundraiser for a semi-local church. We’ve done this night for the last five years which makes it a very comfortable, fun outing for us. We felt it was our best performance to date.

This past Saturday we drove 60 miles along some very curvy through the Cascade foothills to play for a woman’s retreat at the camp where Ed and I met 30+ years ago while on summer staff. I’d forgotten just how many hairpin turns there are on the last 10 miles! After setting up I quickly disappeared for a bit to walk among the trees and indulge in some wonderful memories.

 

Crooked Finger Band PlayersWe’ve never played in this type of setting so planned a varied playlist that included a good number of sing along songs mixed with our regular pieces. By the half time break the ladies were upbeat and full of energy. When someone asked if we could play a reel while they danced the Virginia reel, all the chairs and couches were quickly pushed against the walls and two lines formed and away they twirled, our singers joining them, as those of us with instruments played until they collapsed.
(Sorry about the fuzzy picture!)

Here’s a bit of spinning from January:

Azure Yarn

 

3.5 ounces Corriedale Pencil Roving
380 2 ply yards ca.
Spun on Louet Victoria

I find it interesting that it’s much easier to spin consistently with my spindle. Perhaps as I spin more with the Victoria it’ll even out. I suspect I’ll always prefer using Turk spindles.

 

The Monkey Socks, the knitting inspiration behind my tongue in cheek definition of the old saying “Mind your Ps and Qs”, were finished Saturday having missed DIL’s birthday by just two days. I spent over four hours knitting away Thursday hoping to get them done but by early afternoon crazy mistakes were being made so they were safely tucked away until a clearer brain prevailed.

Monkey Pattern Socks

The Pattern: Monkey by Cookie A.
By the fourth pattern repeat I had the pattern pretty much memorized. I probably will make more Monkey Socks in the future as I like the puffy, crazy look.
Yarn: Trekking 75% Wool/25% Nylon
I bought the yarn about five or six years ago. I’m not sure if age had something to do with the slight sticky feeling.

Needles: Brittany #2
I’ve been spoiled with Ed’s sharp needles and the rounded tips were driving me crazy so I laid a piece of fine grit sanding paper on the table and rolled each dpn back and forth until they were sharp.

Speaking of needles…next time around you’ll see what Ed made for a special, custom order. Did someone say BIG?

Mt Hood

 

 

 

We’ve had some incredibly beautiful weather for the past five days. Just look at Mt Hood! The camp we were at is some where along one of the tree covered ridges.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Spinning music, yarn and socks”

  1. Oh Wanda, you’re making me homesick for Idaho and the Pacific Northwest!

    The yarn is lovely [even though we know how I am about blue]. Blow kisses at Mt. Hood for me!

    Can’t wait to see the super-sized knitting needles. Gives me an idea…

  2. I would have loved to hear you playing! And I would have loved dancing to the reel!

    Your January spinning is amazing. I could certainly get lost in those colors.

    Congratulations on the DVD Wanda!

  3. “and a grand time was had by all!”

    Your yarn is, IMHO, quite exceptional, those colours are dreamy!
    Lovin’ those Monkeys, again such pretty colours!

    Ahhh, Mt. Hood, thank you for that photo! (I’ve been there!)

  4. But…but… two of the wonderful pictures are covering up the wonderful writing!! And that is gorgeous yarn, by the way…looks remarkably similar to some gorgeous yarn I’m using to knit a very Interesting Scarf right now that a dear (new!) friend sent me!!!!!

  5. I love those monkey socks. They look so warm and cozy. I too, noticed that your lovely picture of Mt. Hood is covering up part of your writing. At the moment, I am deeply into baby knitting, as a friend is expecting a girl in June. I’ve made a little sweater, and I’m working on some tiny socks. I loved your music picture. I could hear the reel!

  6. Mmm, that yarn you spun up is gorgeous! Funny thing, I was playing on a Louet Victoria myself Saturday, but then I came home and spun the silk you sent me on the Turkish spindle, and I have to say, there was something much less quick and stressful about it 🙂 Now to ply…. I wish I could have heard you all playing — it sounds like great fun!

  7. Wow! Beautiful yarn!! I don’t spin at all but I crochet. Your work is beautiful.

    I also enjoyed the account of your musical group. Is that you on violin/fiddle?

    Thanks for liking my posts on music on my blog. I do have a full-length keyboard in our RV, but my mother, of course has a real piano. Two of them, in fact. So we’ll do our recording at her place. There’s not enough room in here for her to set up the cello and draw the bow 🙂

Comments are closed.