Minding my P’s & Q’s

I was moving steadily forward in an orderly fashion, minding my p’s and q’s. I can’t dwaddle right now for there’s a deadline to meet in two weeks.

You know how it is when an acquaintance pops up who demands your time. KT one of those friends with whom I don’t mind spending small bits of time. When she’s around my path is sure to diverge a bit and wander in new tracks. The problem is that she’s almost always accompanied by her shadow, S, whom I’d prefer to keep as a brief nodding acquaintance. When first saw KT yesterday I waved in happy recognition. But I was quickly stopped in my tracks when I realized her friend was following close on KT’s heel, demanding attention from me.

While KT is straightforward, simple and quick, I get slightly frustrated with S’s awkward ways and at times downright orneriness, to say nothing of her slippery nature. I try to be calm and patient with S for I know that KT needs her for balance. I just wish that I could learn how to get S to move quicker, at the least somewhat gracefully, and not to be such a bother when I encounter her.

I’m thankful they only come around every other row or so and then I reach the place where I gladly bid these nodding acquaintances, K2T and SSK, adieu for three blissful rounds.

monkeycuff.jpg

P for purl, Q for queue… You know, as in a line. Neat orderly lines formed by Knit stitches.
Don’t you think that’s really where that expression came from? Someone diligently tending to her stockings.
monkeypurls.jpg
Who wants to say Ps & Ks when Q says it so much better. :-0

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

18 thoughts on “Minding my P’s & Q’s”

  1. Heheheheheh, Ok, it took me a few seconds… I re-read that first bit, and yes, I CAN be a bit slow on the uptake, because I just couldn’t imagine, heheheh, ah hah! This is funny… and Q does say it so much better!
    That’s some very gorgeous yarn, Ms Wanda, look at all those yummy nummy colours! Mitts?
    XOX

  2. Don’t feel bad, Marianne, I was a little slow on the uptake, too! :0)

    I’m the same way, Wanda, SSK is such a pain. But worth it, and your project is looking amazing, what a beautiful fabric you’re making! It’s good to see you post, I’ve been thinking about you.

  3. That’s purty, purty yarn. Hope you find a way to get along with S a little better. There are always those ‘folks’ that God puts in our path to give us opportunities to learn patience…be it knitted or otherwise!!!

  4. Yup, that one took me a moment, too – I couldn’t imagine you having that much trouble with a real person! 😉 SSK, on the other, I can totally understand. That is some gorgeous looking yarn — I love the colors. I hope you’re having a peaceful and happy week.

  5. Hee hee! I’m going to share a tip I learned recently – probably from Ravelry. Instead of doing the usual ssk, try this: insert your needle through the first stitch but don’t remove it from the LH needle; insert the needle tip through the back of the second stitch, and knit the two together. Just goes so much faster. And you really won’t see the difference.

  6. Guess I am half alseep also LOL ; so clever Wanda and I think we can all relate when ‘certain’ stitches turn up 😉
    Love the rich colour of your yarn

  7. It hasn’t beat me yet….but it’s been close! This is *not* the easiest pattern in the world…in fact, it may be the hardest pattern I’ve ever worked with. Just so much attention to be paid to every single stitch, and no forgiveness if a stitch is dropped. I can’t really say it’s “fun”, but I’m enjoying the challenge! Thanks!!!!!!

  8. I had to read this a few times to ‘get’ what you were on about…lol…love the socks, I will knit some of those monkeys before I’m much older!

Comments are closed.