Going Places

The colored states are ones I have been to:
Growing up in Oregon we often drove to California, Idaho or Montana to visit relatives. At thirteen we moved to Northern Arizona. When I was 17 my folks and I took a six week trip in a huge lopsided loop to the upper Midwest then on to the east coast visiting friends and relatives the entire way. It was a wonderful trip. I have driven from my home to each of these states with the exception of Louisiana, I flew to Dallas then drove over the border to visit my friend.About ten years ago we drove from Oregon to Iowa/Minnesota/WI to visit Ed’s grandparents, relatives, and friends. Aurora had just gotten her permit and she got to log in some major driving time. She was keen on driving in as many states as possible so we detoured from Nebraska and dipped down to Kansas just to add another state to her list. We stopped along the way to swim, hike, eat ice cream and see sights/sites. A great family trip.I love long journeys cruising secondary roads seeing the land and small towns. I’d love to hit the road for another trip. It’s about time I get to the southern states, don’t you think? 🙂
Where have you been? http://www.epgsoft.com/VisitedStatesMap

Sorry, I haven’t found a map of the entire world. Now that would be great!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Going Places”

  1. I hope you are all okay down there in Oregon. We have been hearing on the news about some heavy storms on the west coast. My dad was a teacher so we used to travel a lot in the summer. We visited every province in Canada except Newfoundland (I still haven’t been there.) We also saw some of the States. We went to Williamsburg, Virginia, twice. I have also been to Great Britain and loved it.

  2. You’ve been to far more states than I have! My map looks quite different–a big swath across the south from California to Florida and up the East Coast. Looks like I have some traveling to do…

  3. Wow! I’m so jealous! I love road trips. Would definitely love to do a huge driving tour across America one day. I have a world map (somewhere) that looks far more impressive than it is, because a weekend trip to Paris colours in the whole of France… I don’t think that’s quite fair.

  4. What a great map! You have been to so many places — and to drive to all of them is especially impressive. I’ll have to go do my map; I haven’t been to so many, though, I know, and I definitely haven’t driven to all of them. I do love a good road trip though — we used to pack up in the summer and drive up to Priest Lake, in Idaho, which I loved. And we’re thinking of a Great Southwest Road Trip with the kids this summer — you’ve inspired me!

  5. I’ve only got 11 more to go…seven of which are in New England…which is pretty stupid considering I grew up in Maryland! I love road trips, too, especially when we find interesting historical blips along the way…like the Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead in southern Kansas…too cool.

Comments are closed.