Books and A Birthday

This was the first Christmas, to my recollection,, that no books were wrapped and waiting under the tree. Ed scored with six books and I went to bed slightly disappointed for I always look forward to having some new books to savor. Not to worry. The first present I opened on the 26th revealed:wildhorses.jpg
A wonderful book about the various wild horse refuges. The friend who gifted me with the book went to school with the daughter of the author, Charles J Summers, Jr who had a working ranch.. It’s truly a fascinating book that has stirred up a bit of horse dreaming.

Last year I saw this book while visiting a library during a trip to the coast and marked it down in my book wish list. I was delighted to find in it hidden in birthday wrapping paper. 3cupstea.jpg_Three Cups of Tea_ is the story of a man who after attempting to climb K2 took a wrong turn and ended up in a remote village that had no school. Determined to help these people Greg Mortenson set out to build them a school with sheer determination and perseverance. It’s a pleasure to be vicariously. back in the Baltistan mountains, a place I first discovered through Dervla Murphy’s, _Where the Indus is Young_. I’m trying to read it slowly, in small portions. A book filled with the tallest mountains in the world and deep gorges shouldn’t be galloped swiftly through, I don’t want to miss any of the rich details.

Ed also gave me a book I’d recently read about and had high hopes of receiving:musicophilia.jpg

I’m looking forward to engaging my brain in, _Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain_. Oliver Sacks, a neurologist and the author of _Awakenings_, explores the power of music.

Two other books round out this feast of books:
_Tales of Persia_ William Miller, a missionary who’d worked in Iran for 43 years. He wrote the book for his grandchildren hoping that his stories would help them to see past the media and political image and instead see the regular everyday people.
_Home to Holly Springs_ Jan Karon, one of my favorite contemporary fiction authors. Her stories are peopled by characters strikingly reminiscent of people in your own community, especially if you live in a small country village. I look forward to peering back into the story of Father Tim who Jan Karon brought to vivid life some ten years ago. Jan is not an author who churns one book out after the other but lets them develop and mature slowly. As a result it’s been a couple of years since I read her last adult book and I’m looking forward to a slow blustery weekend when I can wrap up in a soft cuddly throw with a cup of hot tea and time to lose myself in Holly Springs.

*****
Though it’s a pain in some ways to have a birthday on the heels of Christmas there are benefits. A few friends of my heart were able to meet me for birthday coffee at the local coffee shop. The times of getting together to chat and catch up with each other is precious.

I love having my birthday so close to the beginning of a new year. The week from my birthday is often a time for looking back and making decisions on how I can also move forward in my life. I want to be able to have more balance in my life this year. Somehow I need to find the time to balance our business and fibery pursuits with other important areas: personal relationships, walking, music. And even within the fiber world I want to sort out projects and goals. I’m not sure how that’s going to look, yet. I know that I want to spend more time at the loom, and the other night I dreamed I was making bobbin lace again. It’s such a slow process I’m not sure I should take up the pillows, bobbins and thread again but Sarah has been longing for me to make a bobbin lace bookmark to replace the one that was stolen from her Bible years ago.

*****

This past week I finished the first prayer shawl (Yes!), spun a couple ounces of corriedale roving and made a hairpin scarf. Ed gave me a camcorder for Christmas (I am so spoiled fortunate to have two days in a row opening gifts!) I’m still learning my way around with it this new camera that also takes still photos. Soon I’ll figure out how to load the still photos to this computer. And then on to making some tutorials of hairpin lace and spinning. : -)

Wednesday, January 2nd Ed and I will be celebrating 30 years of matrimony! Whew, where did those years go?

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! May it be filled with Peace.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

14 thoughts on “Books and A Birthday”

  1. Sounds like you share a birthday with LittleBit. Sounds like you enjoyed yours as much as she did, hers.

    Happy New Year, my friend. May all the surprises be happy ones.

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of celebrations piled up in one corner of the year! Must be a lot of fun round your house at this time! Many congratulations on your anniversary – now that’s wonderful.

    (The Musicophilia book is what I gave my dad this Christmas. I read an extract from it in a magazine recently. Looks fascinating.)

  3. Happy birthday! And, how interesting. One of the books I’m reading right now is called “This is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession.” It’s good, too!

  4. Aaaaah… two visits in one morning, a delightful treat indeed!
    What a wonderful collection of books you received!
    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Anniversary to you and Ed!
    May both celebrations be full of joy and happiness for many years to come :^)

  5. Happy New Year! Your thoughts for 2008 sound much like mine. Oh, for more balance in my life, more time for healthy things like exercise. I hope your birthday was happy, and that you will be graced with time to curl up with your new books and have a good read. Enjoy your anniversary too!

  6. Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Birthday, and Happy Anniversary! What a wonderful happy time for you. My New Year’s resolutions have been all about balance and kindness. I’m hoping to have the mindfulness to achieve those goals, and I wish the same for you.

  7. My goodness, that’s a lot of celebrating in one week!
    Does your book on wild horses include Assateague? That’s one of my favorite places in the world…I want my ashes scattered there. The other books look terrific, too. Now all we knitters need to do is to learn how to read and knit at the same time!
    Happy-Merry C.B.N.Y.A.!!!

  8. What fantastic books you received ! The one about the horses sounds really interesting.
    A Happy (belated) Birthday to you and all the best wishes for the New Year.

    Gelukkig Nieuwjaar !

  9. Happy Belated Birthday! What a wonderful collection of reading ahead! I read Three Cups of Tea when it first came out. Once started, I couldn’t put it down. Like you, mountain climbing stories cast a spell over me. One of my birthday books was _Opium Season: a Year on the Afghan Frontier_, which I’m looking forward to reading as a sort of sequel to 3 cups…
    Thanks for sharing your reading..you _must_ start a LibraryThing account!!

  10. Happy birthday! *and* Happy Anniversary! Thirty years is a wonderful accumulation of time; I wish you many more blessed years together.

    All of your books look so wonderful — I really enjoyed reading Three Cups of Tea myself, and Rick is working his way through it right now. And anything by Oliver Sacks is wonderful 🙂 Enjoy your days of celebration!

  11. oh my, Happy Belated Birthday to you! And Happy Anniversary. And Happy New Year!

    I’m listening to Julian Bream’s recording of Venetian Boat Song atm, and reading about your new Musicology book. Lovely books you’ve received. Enjoy!

  12. How wonderful to have all those celebrations in such short succession and some great gifts too, wishing a happy new year
    xxx

Comments are closed.