Blessed

Clouds hung low over the Cascades blocking them from sight as Ed and I drove up into the mountains to visit friends today. It’s been snowing one to two feet almost every day up there this past week and we’d hoped for some spectacular scenes. Glimpses of snow covered trees and ridges lightly frosted with clouds in a monochromatic world was beauty enough.

Our friends live on the bank of the Salmon River at the edge of the snow line. Floor to ceiling windows and glass doors took the place of walls on the south side of the living room and kitchen, framing the river. What must it be like to wake up everyday with such a view of the mountain river and a forest ascending a mountain across the way?
red-benches.jpg
Red relief on the back patio.

downriver.jpg  Looking down river. This picture doesn’t do justice to the serene beauty and thinking we might get another good glimpse of the mountains as we drove home I didn’t take one of the mountain across the river. By the time we left the clouds had closed in and the rain steadily tapped against the windshield.

We had not taken time for a day trip together since Black Sheep Gathering in June so this day felt very special: a gift in our busy lives.

Look what came in the mail!
kr-exchange.jpg
A package from my Knitter’s Review Exchange pal! These goodies are so delightful I’m thrilled to my toes. The sock yarn has subtle shades of reds blending from dark bing cherry to light strawberry sorbet. It’s 100 g of handgefarbte Sockerwalle, Merino superwash.

Those shiny, foil wrapped balls?  Lindt Lindor chocolates – with soft, melt in your mouth decadence buried inside. Ymmm Yes, I’ve been sharing them with Ed. I’m so glad that he’s not a huge chocolate fan. 🙂

And you see the packet of Soak? Perfect timing to try this for my Red Sweater. I used it yesterday and love the result on the handknit sweater made from Briar Rose handdyed yarn.  A huge thank you to Beth! I feel thoroughly spoiled. 🙂

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Blessed”

  1. Heh…. first two comments.. ‘Mariannes’… and I have to agree, beautiful location for living…. a place so many of us can only dream about… I take it that river doesn’t flood :^)
    What a beautiful package you received! Chocolaty smiles all ’round… socks of Reds? Mmmmmmm
    XOXOX

  2. What a wonderful place to live ! The sound of the river when you sit on the patio or when you lay in your bed… magic !
    I love little daytrips like that, so sad that they don’t happen too often.
    And Wollmeise yarn, so georgeous to knit with. She makes incredible colors, I just started a new shawl with the lace yarn.Wishing you a Merry Christmas !

  3. 🙂 I love the energy of that photo, and could almost imagine myself sitting on the red bench, listening to the running water. Lovely!

    Have a good Christmas 🙂

  4. Glad you’re enjoying everything; I hope the pattern isn’t one you already have! The views of the river are amazing…thank you for the photographs…have a blessed Christmas!

  5. The gift of a day sounds like the perfect gift to give one another. And such a beautiful place to spend it! The package looks like such a treat too — I love that wool wash (not to mention chocolate…) 🙂

  6. I love Lindt chocolate. It does indeed melt in your mouth. And those socks-to-be will be beautiful. I can see little red socks for Faith, and plenty left for grownup size socks for Grandma! I love the sound of a river, as long as it’s a gentle tinkle rather than a roar. Hopefully that river, which looks high, behaves itsef and stays within its banks.

  7. Hope you had a blessed Nativity, and enjoyed your family….

    looks like a delightful package…pretty yarn and the truffles, oh those are so good!

  8. I thought that looked like Wolmeise yarn, I have a skein which I think is far too lovely for socks! Great photos and locations, hope you had a lovely peaceful Christmas.
    best wishes
    x

Comments are closed.