Silk Bookmarks

Rain is pounding against the house with gust of wind occasionally giving it a good shake. I’m behind in all preparations for Christmas, but before any more time slides past I wanted to show you what I’ve been spending bits of spare time making.

spinning-bookmark-silk.jpg
Spinning silk for bookmarks.
After it’s spun and plyed the fine yarn is crocheted into bookmarks.

silk-bookmark.jpgIt takes about 5 yards per bookmark and a couple of seed beads. Not counting the spinning it takes less than 30 minutes to make one. I first saw one of these bookmarks at PoMoGo‘s blog in September, which linked to the pattern at Crochet Me, and thought what a great stocking stuffer they would make.
A small collection has now gathered, with some already in the mail to family. For a few brief days I entertained the idea of decorating the trees with a dozen or so but haven’t managed to get in enough spinning time. Instead, it’d be fun to make felted ornaments using Lene’s Dec 18th directions for her bookmarks.

Faith is napping down the hall. She’s an unexpected gift today. When she wakes up we’ll try making some goodies. Having her here today has reminded me why I loved those precious years when my kids were between 14 months and 30months.
Days filled with wonder and joy.

santa-faith.jpg

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Silk Bookmarks”

  1. I love the bookmark! So simple and elegant. Did you bead both ends? Are they braided or other? (a smidge hard to tell from the picture).

    ENJOY your time with Faith. She’s incredibly adorable. I just want to reach in and give her a squeeze! LOVE the babes!

  2. How beautiful, Wanda! and those particular colours are so tranquil :^)
    I saw Lene’s felted bookmarks, she’s such a clever and talented lady.
    Hi Faith, you’re certainly getting to be the big girl now…
    She’s so beautiful, her complexion, and she’s so stout and strong, give her some hugs and kisses from me, it’s so good to see her.
    XOX

  3. Wanda, the bookmark is so lovely! But Faith, she is the real beauty. I, too, love those precious months before “NO, MAMA!” becomes the child’s favorite phrase…. 🙂

  4. I still love your bookmarks, they are such a fabulous idea!
    Give Faith a hug from us, and I hope that you enjoyed making things (cakes?) together.

  5. I remember making Christmas goodies with my children. It was usually messy, but great fun, with candy sprinkles everywhere. Wow, Faith has turned into such a little lady. And she appears to have her very own cellphone already! Have a blessed Christmas with your family.

  6. And blessings of Midwinter to both of you, and I hope the day was cosy and happy and that Faith will look back on the treasured memories in years to come.

    I too love those so practical and so beautiful bookmarks. Might whip up a few myself for quick tokens – thank you so much for the inspiration.

  7. The photo of the silk on the spindle is soooo beautiful! Nice bookmark Wanda!

    So glad to hear that you are enjoying your time with Faith…I smile reading about it!

    Merry Christmas~

  8. That yarn looks so lovely! (And is, of course, driving my increasing desire to start trying to spin ;).) The bookmarks are a lovely idea; I’ll have to try that next year — I’m attempting to keep things from getting too out of hand this year. Enjoy your time with Faith, and have a wonderful holiday!

Comments are closed.