Hairpin Lace Wrap

The hairpin lace wrap is finished for K.

shoulder-hairpin-lace-wrap.jpg

Yarn: Brown Sheep Co – Prairie Silks: 72% Wool; 18% Mohair; 10% Silk
Used three  50 gr skeins – approx 176yds Bought in 2004 at the Weaving Convergence for $5.60/skein!

Method: Hairpin Lace Loom, Size F Crochet hook
180 loops per strip, total of 11 strips joined together.

I’ve been asked to put a hairpin lace tutorial on the blog. I’d like to, once the December rush is over. lace-cat.jpg
It’s very soft and warm and comfortingly cuddly.

This was a yarn with purpose. When I fell in love with it three years ago I had no idea what it’d be used for though I had vague thoughts of combining it with other wools in weft for a woven vest or jacket. On Saturday, the 17th, K came over to learn how to crochet. During the lesson I showed her various skeins in my stash and talked a bit about the different uses. When one of these skeins was brought to light she immediately grabbed it and held it to her face commenting that she loved the feel and colors.
folded-hairpin-lace-wrap.jpg

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Hairpin Lace Wrap”

  1. Wow, that wrap sure looks prettier than the pieces I made back in the 70’s using Red Heart when it was still wool [and still a decent if uninspiring yarn]!

    I fell in love with the Brown Sheep yarns when I was weaving, 20 years ago. I *think* that I went to Convergence when it was in Dallas.

    Beautiful, just beautiful!

  2. That is a beautiful shawl and I love the colors, too. Praying that it will be a comfort to the grieving mother, that she will sense a little of the love that surrounds her.

Comments are closed.