Another Finished Sweater!

The bad or the good. Which gets first billing? The bad then on to the good stuff.

Faith came down with a nasty version of the flu a week ago. She’s still sick. I’m praying that she’ll turn the corner soon.

For several days I’d been suspecting the bug was trying to claim me. This morning it did. I’m vegging with no energy to knit, or even read for long. Seems like a good time to update here. (Maybe not – I just lost the several paragraphs.)

More grouching on the printer front. The new all-in-one printer didn’t behave. The fax picked up in the midst of all incoming calls. Bells, whistles, howls and groans shrieked in our ears until the beast was divested of power. After a week of trying to program it and talking with a live human, who doesn’t live in India, he declared that it was faulty and issued a restock/refund. Next a photosmart all in one was delivered and yesterday I tried to hook it up. All was well until after installing the ink cartridges and closing the lid. It shut down not to be rebooted by any means. Another lengthy phone call this time a chap about 40 away walked through troubleshooting steps. After drawing blanks he suggested a near power box be sent (it has a strangely configured power jack which only accepts their line). Meanwhile we’re still without a printer/fax/copier/camera reader. My laserjet is plugging faithfully away but the pages turn darker pink with use and it’s on its last legs.

One good thing. Sarah took a few pictures which I was able to upload before sending the Canon back so I have a few pictures of a very good thing.

THE RED SWEATER IS FINISHED!

Making Faith’s hoodie enabled me to carry forth and finish the Red Sweater.Briar Rose Yarn

Yarn: Briar Rose Fibers Sonoma (This particular colorway is sold out) This yarn was won in the giveaway at the Red Sweater KAL. I received 2 skeins with approximately 487 yds each. The sweater came down to the wire with the yarn, I really could have used about 10 more yards to tidy up alon the neck.
Pattern: Started out using the basic Pure & Simple pattern but quickly realized I wanted my own design. Which really isn’t something I advise a rank new sweater maker to undertake. With the exception of a newborn sweater I made for Faith about the time I received this yarn, I’d yet to knit a sweater. By the time I’d hit the area of joining the arms the pattern was discarded. Top down, knit in the round.
Needles: Jenkins US9 24″ Circular
Project on Needles: 1 year
red-sweater-sleeve.jpg
Detail of sleeve: Pattern from Vines Rib in the Vogue Knitting Stitchionary Bk One

red-sweater-front.jpg
Seed Stitch first several inches below neck line.

Ta Da!
red-sweater-side.jpgThe sweater fits quite nicely and I’m very pleased with how it turned out. It’s warm and comfortable. Cozy comfort. Wear-to-death kind of comfortable.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Another Finished Sweater!”

  1. I like the sweater very much! It looks just roomy enough to be very comfortable. I have only twice attempted an adult size sweater, and both attempts are stuffed into my closet of shame, half done, with the needles ripped out. I hope that Faith is feeling better soon, and you too. Everyone around here is getting flu shots. Guess I’d better get mine soon too. Take care.

  2. I’m sending all manner of warm healing thoughts to you and Sweet Faith, and hope you both feel much better soon! (lots of rest, liquids, rest, repeat)
    I love that red! It looks like a wonderfully rich earthy red, is it? Lovely. Simply Lovely. It looks great on you and I love that it’s ‘wear-to-death kind of comfortable’! Congrats!
    But drats on the multi-tasking machine, ack.

  3. Ooh! Gorgeous sweater! I love the cables along the arms — it adds just that certain something, without making it too fancy-schmancy to be true to its wear-to-death nature. The color is lovely, too.

    I’m so sorry to hear that you and Faith are ill! I’m sending my strongest pro-healing and anti-flu thoughts your (pl.) way — I hope you both feel better soon. I’ve been putting off getting a flu shot, but maybe the time has come… Maybe there are flu elves who can come and take the flu and leave a dollar and a note? (wouldn’t that be nice…) 😉 Take care of yourselves, and hang in there.

    (P.S. Now I’m going to be tempted to make jabbing motions at purple-clad behinds next time I have the chance — not a good idea!!)

  4. What a beautiful sweater! And it fits perfectly!

    I hope Faith is doing better, and that you don’t get it too bad…sending a cup of virtual broth in your direction (feel better soon!)…and take it easy~

  5. I’ll include Faith in my prayers too.

    The flu is going around at the moment, but touch wood, I have avoided it so far.

    The red sweater looks lovely, is it nice and comfortable?

    Hugs

  6. Drink some nice hot tea, and get well soon! Praying for you and sweet little Faith.

    Your sweater is lovely! Beautiful color, and I love the detail on the sleeve!

  7. I’m joining the chorus: I LOVE that sweater!!! It’s all my favorite colors: primarily red, with a hint of denim/heather blue and moody grey, just hints. I LOVE it!

    Thank you for your wonderfully supportive comment on my blog. I love that, too. Thanks for reading!

  8. P.S. Thoughtlessly hit “submit” before I added that I’m praying for you and Faith to feel well again soon. PTL for our immune systems that eventually overcome these bugs.

  9. So sorry to hear that you and Faith are suffering with the flu, hoping since you’ve been out in blogland writing comments that you too have turned a corner, lovelovelove the red sweater, what an achievment!

  10. Absolutely gorgeous sweater.

    I hope you feel better soon.

    (PS thankyou for switching to wordpress– it loaded up completely so I got to see all the pictures.)

Comments are closed.