Birthday Hoodie

Sure, the hoodie was going to be finished with a week to spare.  No Problem.

The entire back was finished in two days. A few days later I was merrily zooming up the front thinking the hoodie was a snap until I realized – the needles. I’d forgotten to change to larger needles after ribbing. Rip and Knit. Again, partway up the front, this time I saw that I’d forgotten to do the 3 garter stitches along the front edge. Shoot, rip. It was almost another week before I picked up to knit. Then the second sleeve gave me as much problem as the first front half and suddenly it there were only two days left to finish the sleeves, knit the hood part and put it all together.

1 a.m. Friday I pinned it out then spritzed it and left it to dry over night. My first blocking job.

Hoodie Blocking

Staying up until 1pm is not in my best interest, especially two nights in a row. By Saturday the 20th, the birthday the cap sleeves were installed and seams joined,  only the zipper remained, and I was a zombie. I tried, really I did try, to sew in the zipper by hand but the hands on the clock were relentless and Ed’s dad had said they’d arrive at 11:30am. After 30 years of marriage I KNOW that if Jared said 11:30, they’d be at our door by 11. Probably earlier. By 9 I knew there was no way I could get that zipper in by hand in a timely manner so out came Old Faithful, the 1951 flyweight Singer. Finished with time to spruce up the house a bit.

10:30am while passing down the hall for the shower the phone rang. I tried to be invisible. No such luck. A customer with a phone order, waylaid with no escape. Jared and Linda arrived while I was still on the phone. I didn’t get to watch their faces as they saw our made-over living room and kitchen though I could catch bits of exclamations.

Faith’s Radio Flyer
At Faith’s party Aurora produced a red Radio Flyer for Faith. She was entranced going in circles from living room through dining room into kitchen and back into the living room by another hallway at her house. Ed and I have always slowly doled out presents, this gives the person time to enjoy the gift rather than ripping from one present to the next which almost feels as though the first is being discarded, so it was fun for us to watch Faith have time to really enjoy the wagon before she started in on the round on presents.

For the past month her parents have been making Faith keep her hands away from her mouth and food while she’s eating, (except, of course, for finger foods) so she was hesitant when the cake was placed in front of her and she was encouraged to dig in with both hands.
Once she got the hang of it, no worries. Peace Cake!

peace-cake.jpg

The Hoodie:

faiths-birthday-007.jpg

faiths-hoodie.jpg

Pattern: Hand Knit Yarns by Naturally Fashion Collection
Yarn: Cascade Tweed 220 Hot Pink 2+ skeins (Pattern called forVero 12ply)
Needles: US 7 & 8  (one size smaller to adjust for change in yarn)
Since both the yarn and needles were of smaller gauge than pattern required I used the instructions for the 24″ chest rather than 22″ – Faith is 20″ right now. It worked, with room for her to grow.
Time to complete: 3 weeks

Grandpa’s Gift:

block-shapes.jpg

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Birthday Hoodie”

  1. I just knew that you had had a great time!
    That hoodie looks so warm.
    Look at Faith having such fun, what a fabulous day. 🙂
    I love your idea on the presents, I think we will use that this year with the nephews and nieces.

  2. What a beautiful sweater! Does Faith have some curls at the back? It sure looks as if she knows what to do with everything–the frosting, the musical toy, and the block shapes board. She has such kissable cheeks, too! You are so blessed.

  3. She is absolutely gorgeous! I love how absorbed she looks in enjoying every last bit of her birthday. And the sweater is perfect on her — room to grow, but not too big. I’m glad you made it through the pre-festivity business 🙂

  4. The hoodie is beautiful, what a wonderful job knitting, congratulations!
    Faith… sweet Faith… these photos are just beautiful, loves me a naked baby with that first birthday cake! Her absolute delight with everything, brings tears to my eyes and joy to my heart.
    I’ve always done that with the little ones, one gift at a time…
    Thank you, so very much.

  5. It feels like a while since we’ve seen Faith and is amazing to see how much she’s grown in her first year, lovely photos and hoodie, thanks for sharing it all with us
    x

  6. Faith looks absolutely adorable ! Such a beautiful little girl, first birthdays are always so special !
    The hoodie looks lovely on her, still some room to grow, but they grow so fast !

  7. What a great party!! (So glad you got the camera stuff worked out)…the photos are wonderful! Sounds like it was a terrific first birthday party—and you made the deadline!! The hoodie is adorable…and Faith just makes me want to scoop her up and cuddle her! How cute!

  8. What a wonderful picture of happiness! I love the hoodie too, a very useful garment .It’s nice to see the Cascade yarn knitted up as I have been looking at it on the net.

Comments are closed.