Pictureless Birthday

I’m so disappointed that I’m still not able to access the reader card for the old Olympus camera. The new printer was delivered yesterday afternoon but another task had my full attention late into the night. Now my brain is too crowded by sleep cells to deal with installing a new piece of hardware. Pictures will be forthcoming as soon as they can be pried from the camera.

I knit a hoodie cardigan for Faith’s birthday learning many things in the process. For one, just because the back is finished in three days does not mean that it will be a snap to finish.  For the first time I encountered such beasties as cap sleeves, side seams, and sewing in a  zipper.  It was begun during the coast retreat three weeks ago,  finished this morning about 10:30, this after two nights staying up until 1am.

Her party was at 12:30 today.
Granddaughter Faith turned one year old today. One year ago we were rejoicing that the doctor’s diagnosis, based on multiple 3D ultrasounds, proved incorrect. There’s been no sign of Dandy-Walker Syndrome and she has a clean bill of health. We are deeply grateful for God’s intervention in direct answer to many prayers, and faith.

Today Faith is almost walking,  she could if she didn’t think about it. She took two steps at the pumpkin patch a few days ago when she fancied a pumpkin and forgot that she wasn’t holding a hand. We long to see her independence and encourage her not to hold our hands. In a few years we’ll long for her to reach out and grasp our hands.

She says “kitty”.  Any and all cats have captured her fascination and attention since she was old enough to turn her head and follow one with her eyes.

It was funny to see her ignore the piles of gifts in front of her while she opened and shut her first card blabbering as she pretended to read. She likes books, and she blabbers. Then she became enthralled with all the tissue paper.

She got naked and ate cake.
(Literally, except for diapers.)

We are blessed.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Pictureless Birthday”

  1. oh what a darling, I bet you couldn’t resist a snuggle of that naked (except for nappy)baby? I love the thought of her reading her card and babbling and I also love the way that they prefer the paper to the contents. It must be quite refreshing for them to be given permission to tear some paper!

  2. Happy happy Birthday, dear sweet Faith!
    I also find it just incredible that she’s a year old now, and I’m so happy to hear about her clean bill of health!
    I’m looking forward to seeing the photos!

    I love that, ‘she got naked and ate cake’ I just can’t imagine there’s a one year old that ‘wasn’t’ naked and eating cake out there….
    XOXOXOX

  3. Happy Birthday, Faith! I’m so glad she’s well. What a lovely (and gooey) birthday party it must have been! I’m sending prayers for continued good health and growth for her in the next year.

  4. Happy birthday, Faith! And I’m so glad to hear about her clean bill of health — what a blessing and a relief. I can’t wait to see the pictures. There’s nothing better in life than watching a one-year-old fully engaged with the business of a birthday. Congratulations on finishing the sweater! Knitting on a deadline is always SO stressful, especially when you have to face putting in a zipper at the end 🙂

  5. What a blessing that Faith now has a clean bill of health, and enjoyed naked cake on her birthday 🙂
    I bet you feel like super Grandma finishing just in time.
    Hugs to you both!

  6. Won’t be long before she’s pretending to *be* a kitty.

    When we lived in Utah, our bishop’s wife said that the way to teach a kid to feed herself was to put her naked, in the high chair, in the shower, with the dog, and close the door.

    We never could afford to keep a dog, so the kids all had to learn the hard way, LOL.

    Happy birthday, Miss Faith! And many more, though sometime between now and 16 you’ll have to figure out how to eat cake with your clothes on!

  7. awww!! look at faith grow! isn’t she wonderful . . what a great party it was. the sweater looks fab and i’ll bet she loves it.

  8. I am entranced by this idea of togging off to eat birthday cake, but when one thinks about it – how very practical! I just love that picture of her afterwards, resplendent in the new hoodie, but with bits of cake still in her hair…

    And Grandpa’s present – square pegs for round holes? Utterly lovely. What a great family event and thank you so much for letting the rest of us come along too.

Comments are closed.