Book Draw

My apologies for not having any pictures to accompany this post. Our All-In-One printer has died and with it the ability to read the camera card. I need to dig out the funky old cord that came with the camera to plug directly to the computer. Unfortunately neither card nor cord fit in this new laptop. Until I can upload pictures to the deskcomputer then copy to a cd I’m kind of stuck. Ed gets the deskcomputer in the evenings.

I have a hard time accepting the fact that expensive technology products wear out or become obsolete within a handful of years. When I pay more than a hundred dollars for an item I expect it to last for years.Β  One computer costs more than we’ve paid for any car until we finally bought a new car in 2004, which I’m planning to drive at least another 15 years. In the past 10 years we’ve bought four computers – only two yet functioning including this 2 month old laptop; four printers of which only the laser is still working and it has printed over 9,000 pages this past year. I have no idea how many pages the workhorse All-in-One printed during its lifetime of two years.Β  My Olympus camera? It’s practically a dinosaur among digital cameras. We bought it the summer of ’97, shortly after the first computer purchase. These are crucial to our business.

Oh, you want to know who won the drawing. Thanks everyone who left comments! I wasn’t sure how well a non-fiction book, with a somewhat narrow focus, would appeal. (Did I say how great the recipes are that are included at the end of almost every chapter?)

Fifteen names were written out onto identical slips of paper which were then carefully folded into thirds (no peeking), and tossed into the large orange ceramic bowl which Ed likes to use for soup and cereal. Again Ed was the person reaching into the bowl and grasping a name slip.

JudyMac! You are the winner! Judy had dropped out of blogland for so many months that I was concerned about her silence. (Judy provided me with the Charollois wool from France well over a year ago.) To have her surface a few days ago and then to win is wonderful. (I promise it wasn’t rigged) I just wish there was a way I could afford numerous copies to give to each one of you.

JudyMac is at the Knit Show at the Ally Pally in London where FreestyleFibre Jo and CelticMemory Jo have also been. Is anyone else of UK/Ireland/Europe going to the show? If you do please stop by Robynn’s Purlescence , (click on Cafe to get to her blog) Stand M33 and say hi.Β  Check out any of our Jenkins knitting needles and crochet hooks that she is selling, along with all her other goodies while you’re at it. The two Jos already stopped by and said Hi. πŸ™‚ How cool is that! I feel like I’m almost meeting all these various people through each other.

Next post will have fiber content, and pictures.

Good stuff still to come such as Oregon Flock and Fiber, and a weekend getaway at the Oregon coast.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Book Draw”

  1. Congrats to JudyMac! I remember she has having major issues with her hands and wrists?
    Also, congrats to you and Ed, having your beautiful needles and hooks in a KnitShow across the pond!
    (I’m with you, I think these expensive little machines should last a looooong time!)

  2. Yay for JudyMac! I hear you with the technology – you finally give in and get all dependant on it, and then it dies on you. Grrrr. :0)

  3. My husband says technology is designed to either wear out or become out of date so companies can keep us coming back and spending more money. After all, they don’t want you buying one car or computer or camera for your lifetime! They only care about their bottom line, not about us consumers. I can’t wait to see your Oregon coast pictures. I’m sure it is beautiful. Enjoy your weekend getaway (sounds romantic!)

  4. I agree — planned obsolescence is just horrible. When a computer dies I just look at it and think, but surely it must still be good for *something*! And it’s not. Grr…. I wish I could see your beautiful needles on display! πŸ™‚

  5. I have a love/hate with high tech and the wastage is frightening.
    Oh wish I could have seen your needles ‘live’ but the trip and ALL the crowds would be too much for me.
    I WILL do the tag you gave me but after this week I am taking some time off blogging as I am in need of a break, so will catch up with you all soon πŸ™‚

  6. Wow! I never win anything, that is such a surprise :))))
    I just popped over to say that I bought some of your needles at Ally Pally. Pink Ivory 5mm and Bolivian Rosewood 2.75mm…ok I have a thing about nice wooden needles, and these are the best I have ever found!
    I’m dead on my feet at the moment, but will email tomorrow when I can put a coherant sentence together πŸ™‚

  7. The disposability of expensive electronic equipment almost makes one wish that technological advances would slow down enough to make people notice and demand durability. Right now things change so much it doesn’t *seem* to matter much to most people. They want a new one of whatever with the new bells and whistles, anyway.

Comments are closed.