Slow smokin’ socks

Finally! The header reflects this fiber related web blog. It’s not quite what I was aiming for, but for now it’s acceptable. The yarn pictured is merino/tencil, from Chameleon Colorworks, handspun on a Turkish spindle during March.

How long does it take you to knit a row of 60 stitches? Does it make any difference if the needles you’re using are #1 (2.25mm) or #5 (3.75mm)? I’ve been frantically knitting a pair of socks for a deadline. Stitches do not fly off my needles. No, they languish on the tips compelled only by my fingers to move along. Except when trying to do a p2t, then they slide off before the needles are engaged.

1080 stitches an hour on #1 needles is what I’ve been able to knit when concentrating. That takes care of one full repeat on the Knitspot Smokin Socks. I’m doing a total of eight repeats – for each sock – without including the heel and toe areas, add an extra hour or two for those. You’d think these socks would have been finished in July. Ha! They are a bit further along than this:
purplesocks.jpg
The toe of the first one is nowseamed and another 12 rows have been finished on the remaining sock. They were worked almost simultaneously until the heel. One pair was worked on two 16″ circs, which I really started liking except the stitches don’t show up well on the rosewood needles in the evening, my primary knitting time. The other was worked on Brittany dpn, the old tried and true. The soft, beautifully colored yarn is from Fearless Fiber, I’ve been enjoying working with it and look forward to making something with the yellow Citrus yarn I got at the same time.

There’s been a lot happening around here which I’d like to put into future postings. The garden is calling for my attention at the moment.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Slow smokin’ socks”

  1. Those socks are gorgeous. They’re just a little darker than the blackberry shake at Jack in the Box. Oh drat! Now I’m hungry again!

  2. These are looking really pretty, even if they are taking their sweet time! I can relate, though, socks always seem to take so long for me. :0)

  3. Love the new header, Wanda, simply lovely!
    I just had to chuckle over your second paragraph, so funny…when you start figuring out just how many stitches it takes for a pattern and the repeats…? Oh yeah. I have been there, done that and seem to find myself doing it again and again.
    The socks are gorgeous, and I’ll never understand why some take longer than others, makes no sense to me… perhaps when our fingers are engaged with such beautifully soft yarn they just want it to last a really long time? heh.
    XOXOXOX

  4. I know exactly how you feel. Sometimes the knitting just rolls along, with no conscious effort required. Other times, though… But, in spite of their time-warping abilities, they are beautiful socks! Good luck with the deadline 🙂 (And enjoy the gardening!)

  5. Those socks are beautiful. I love the texture. I only knit socks on my sock machine, so they work up really quickly. But even though I have speed on my side, I can’t say my socks are truly hand made. And the machine won’t do different textures. (although it will make lacy patterns, sometimes when I don’t want it to.)

  6. Absolutely love the purple of those socks, they’ll be done when they’re ready to hop off the needles, I think knitting has a mind of its own!

  7. That is a great sock pattern, and the yarn is a beautiful color! (so what if the stitches languish for awhile? …enjoy the process 😉

    ah yes, the garden…

  8. Oh I love that apple pie! I always put a pattern or design on the top of mine too! And Wanda, do you know that when I first tentatively started blogging, your socks with four needles (I think it was when you were doing jury duty) impressed me SO much! I felt I would never get round to making a pair myself. So you’re my mentor, pet!

  9. Love the new look blog Wanda and of course I love your socks ; they are purple aern’t they ? My fav colour of the moment LOL
    Oh that pie looks good, nothing to beat homemade apple pie unless its with home made custard 🙂

Comments are closed.