Good Stuff

early-bird.jpg These days often find me outside with the early birds. Coffee savored along with birdsong, gearing up for another stressful day. The old kitchen table has migrated to the back yard during the make-over.

Sitting at the table is necessary for writing on needles.

early-coffee.jpg

When the last needle has been buffed and written on and the last sip of coffee swallowed the garden calls, conspiring to keep me outside. It’s been sorely neglected. Please don’t ask to see the flower bed! For garden color this year I planted a heliotrope.
heliotrope.jpg

Yesterday I canned two batches of green beans. Nothing beats pole beans for flavor. Long sleeves are needed if I don’t want itchy arms for the next several hours.pole-beans.jpgMaybe it was those long ago days when we daily picked pole beans for two pennies a pound. All morning and into the early afternoon we drug huge cotton sacks slowly along a row picking, picking. I was too short to reach the tops of the vines so shared the row with my mom or sister. At lunchtime we’d sit in the cool shade of the tall plants and eat sandwiches with freshly sliced cucumbers. I was so proud when I finally was able to fill my sack with 100lbs of beans. Hard tedious work, but stuff of memories. Besides, most kids in the area picked crops throughout the summer.

Finally, the first tomato of the season!
first-tomato.jpg

Which Gravenstein would you pick to eat?two-apples.jpg
Good Choice!

gravenstein.jpg

The house is coming along. All of the hard work is finished. Ed is with his old buddies on their annual men’s fishing trip this weekend. It’s a much needed break both physically and mentally. He’s been pushing himself so hard that sleep has been elusive.

I’m looking forward to large amounts of time for knitting, hairpin lace and spinning – all sadly neglected these past couple of weeks.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

14 thoughts on “Good Stuff”

  1. Hi Wanda, Glad you’re back! In B.C., my elderly next door neighbour had a Gravenstein apple tree but he was unable to reach up to pick the apples. So my husband and I would pick them and make pies for him (and us!) They were delicious.I have Scarlet runner beans this year but I think they need a sunnier spot. And we have Roma tomatoes coming along.

  2. Great photograph of the needles…I love the idea of sitting outside with the coffee nearby-and writing on needles….no wonder they come out so beautifully!!

  3. Oh yummy, juicy looking apple. Hope both you and Ed enjoy your well deserved break. I so love Heliotrope ,not only a lovely colour but a sweet scent . I have heard that if you dig it up you can overwinter it indoors but I haven’t tried

  4. Is that a mourning dove? Love all the photos (seriously, how do you DO that?). Your kitchen table is beautiful as are the needles…and those bean plants?
    and heliotrope? I’m with Anne, a wonderful scent, sweet yet clean. Your tomato looks perfect and I found my hand reaching in to pick that apple! (and than I found myself drooling)… What a bounty!
    I loved reading about the picking memories :^)
    So glad all the ‘hard’ work is finished now and you both get a well earned break, good fishing and fellowship to Ed this weekend and for you, dear Wanda, enjoy your time with all that makes your heart sing.

  5. I’m glad to hear Ed is taking a break, I know our own upcoming trip will be great for my Stuart. Aren’t we blessed to have such hard working men in our lives? :0)

    Love all the photos, and I hope you have a restful time yourself, spinning and knitting and lace making.

  6. I remember picking strawberries – we started so early in the morning and it was such hard work – but we were really proud of the small amount we earned.

    The Gravenstein looks delectable. Our apples are taking their sweet time – they can afford to here.

    And I hope Ed has a good time relaxing and getting back into form. I always think it’s like a rubber band that has been stretched too much and doesn’t spring back any more. It needs a little rest and then it’s fine again. We all need that!

  7. Wow! Those photos are practically edible (not the one of the bird, but you know what I mean) — they’re just lovely. I can almost taste the apple. I’m glad things are moving along with the kitchen and that some down time is on its way. Enjoy those peaceful morning cups of coffee 🙂

  8. what fabulous photos – especially the one of labeling the needles at the table outside. such a perfect photo!
    hope to see you soon.

  9. I’m so glad to hear that there’s a break in the workload–and potentially light at the end of the tunnel! And I think I’m jealous about the garden–out of control or not! 🙂

  10. Great pictures!

    I scrolled down to baby Grace, inspecting the new floor. There’s a good future in that work. heehee. She is such a little doll baby.

    The needles look perfect and lovely, Congrats to you and to Ed. And those apples, wow! My favorite book was “Mr. Apple’s Family” when I was a kiddy. He had named all his children (6 of them) after different apples.

  11. Beautiful photo, lovely composition. I found your blog via my friend Lynn (Zippi Knits). I’m considering starting to blog as well and wonder how your experience with WordPress compares to other blog providers? Are you glad you made the move to WordPress?

Comments are closed.