Slow Transformation

Bone tired, I am. Weary. Ed is exhausted, the brunt of the work falls on him.

Several asked for before pictures (click for larger pics):

Ed’s old corner. eds-old-corner.jpg

The kitchen as it was, in disarray.old-kitchen.jpg

Can you believe the kitchen floor?
kitchen-floor.jpg
Saturday: Pulled up ancient orange carpet, secured new plywood sub-floor, painted living room walls.
Sunday: no meeting for us instead we laid 214 “boards” of new floor, took us almost ten hours to one by one carefully line up the edges. My poor knees were swollen by the end of the day and threatened to disown me if I knelt down one more time.

 

 

 

Monday: Ed <s>slaved</s> worked in the shop all day turning dozens of little pieces of wood for knitting needles, I packed and mailed over a dozen orders. We’ve been
wiring.jpgrecently inundated with orders. Evening – we ripped out old cabinets and Ed worked on rewiring.

Tuesday: Daytime – Ed made a slew of hairpin lace looms, I frantically tried to get a handle on paperwork, packed and mailed another dozen orders; Evening – hung sheetrock.
Wednesday: Ed churned out Tunisian hooks, I tackled more paperwork, and dazedly looked at the walls wondering how I could help. Ah, mud nails. Ed could tell you I’m a pathetic mudder. Oh but I improved greatly yesterday. He wouldn’t allow me to mud the paper strips across the joins. Ahem, I tried, miserably. It looks so easy. But then, I don’t want tons of microscopic gypsum particles invading the tiniest cranny when the stuff is sanded smooth so I gladly handed Ed the mudding spatula. He has the smooth hand and finesse for the job.sheetrock-walls.jpg

This is the same corner of the kitchen as in the picture above.

Today I signed some 3 dozen Tunisian hooks and mailed a few more packages, Ed assembled the Hairpin Lace Looms. Did I mention that they are mentioned in an article in the current edition of Vogue Knitting? Wahoo! Ed slathered on another layer of mud. We discussed the next steps needed. Unfortunately we need to drive 3 hours down to Roseburg on Saturday to attend the funeral for Ed’s great uncle. Since there will be relatives we’ve not seen in a long time, and Ed’s back can’t endure car rides of any length, we’ll probably stay the night and come back early Sunday. In a way it is good; this enforced break will give us some much needed rest.

Faith approves the new floor. It’s linoleum disguised as wood boards – easy maintenance!

faith-checks-new-floor.jpg

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Slow Transformation”

  1. Oh Wanda, 10 hours on the knees, makes me want to scream and cry, certainly my knees were cringing at the very thought. I’ve been keeping you close in my thoughts, knowing you’ve been so busy with work and the remodeling. But, oh the changes, they’ll be worth it once the knees get over the insult. I will have to say that orange countertop was fun.
    Sounds like Ed’s Great Uncle had a long life walking this earth, enjoy the break, the rest, the drive, the visiting…
    Sweet Faith, she’s such a sturdy littleone, it’s so much fun watching them discover the ‘new’!

  2. Wow, what a lot of work. I am sure that some of the aches and pains my husband has now can be traced back to some renovations he did that turned out to be a bit harder than he expected. Of course he pushed himself even when he was tired. I am sorry to hear about Ed’s great uncle. He must have been quite elderly? The celebration of his life and the chance to see relatives should give you and Ed a rest and a break from your labours.

  3. Oh, Wanda! It’s wonderful that you two work so well together, but what a lot of work! I totally can relate to that feeling of wanting to help – Stuart did more than his share in our kitchen, and I was always bugging around, looking for a project I could take on. :0) How exciting, though!

    I just picked up my copy of Vogue last night, and saw in the contents that lace looms are featured, but haven’t had a chance to read the article yet. Now, I can hardly wait!

  4. Oh I can feel your tiredness through your writing .I haven’t had my copy of Vogue as yet ; its always late here in the UK but I will look out for you How exciting but so well deserved for you both.
    I do hope both you and Ed are feeling a bit better by now after your break away even if it was under sad circumstances

  5. Your work on the kitchen is beautiful! What a big job, though — especially with a small one and your own business to keep up with. I hope that your knees are feeling better after a break, and that the memorial service was full of good memories. I’m off to buy Vogue as soon as the bookstore is open (like I needed an excuse!) šŸ™‚

  6. Sounds as if you’ve both had a manic time of it lately. Congrats on being in Vogue – looking forward to seeing your name in print! Silly question – whats ‘mudding’? Hope you get some relaxing knitting time soon!

Comments are closed.