Change

Weaving has come to a halt, the project finished (finally!), the loom folded.

folded-loom.jpg
Before setting it up again it will be bathed with a lemon juice & olive oil mixture. The fresh squeezed lemon juice will clean dirt and grease, the oil olive will nourish the wood.

Our pottery has come together from various places of honor to congregate for a few days on my dresser.pottery-collection.jpg

Drapes are in the washing machine, dryer and on the clothes line outside.

Today we tear up the old carpet and put the first coat of paint on the living room walls. Next will be the ripping out of old kitchen cabinets, laying down new flooring, installing the cabinets Ed built.

This is not the time to weave. Knitting? Spinning? Maybe bits.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Change”

  1. I’m with Charity, I sat and looked at the photo with all the pottery for a good 5 minutes, at least. You have some seriously beautiful pieces, and I’m liking that basket in the right upper corner.
    YAY! I’m so excited about the remodeling, I imagine it will feel all fresh for you, I’m looking forward to seeing it all come together!
    xox

  2. I love all your pottery! Are you the potter? The frogs are adorable. I know about remodelling, as my husband and I have done our fair share of it. When the dust clears and the paint fumes are gone, you realize the mess was all worth it. Please show us Ed’s cabinets when they are up. I am sure they will be beautiful.

  3. Love your pot collection . Sounds like you are havinga busy time of it, we too need to do some re-decorating in the near future:(
    Sorry I STILL haven’t posted on Weekend Whirls , the days are whizzing past and I am getting less time to be on the internet. We get a lot of family and friends staying and visiting us at this time of the year , the joys of living in a lovely area

  4. I fear to move from Blogspot but I know what you mean about the comments thing. The pottery is gorgeous. Thanks for putting up a picture of it.

  5. NIce pots! I hope you eat out often. Those kitchen remodeling jobs can be brutal…but my will it be worth it with Ed’s cabinets! I can only imagine!

  6. Oh aren’t those vinyl ‘floorboards’ the best when you have small children and/or animals around? So practical. And oddly enough, we’re just tearing up carpets and wondering if we can stain the boards underneath… must be catching the urge from you!

  7. Having survived the remodeling of our *one* bathroom in the old house about 20 years ago, all I can say is take it one day at a time, one piece of sheetrock at a time, and work to your strengths. Remodeling is like childbirth: hot, sweaty, messy, frequently noisy, exhausting, exhilarating, and ultimately worth it. Plus think of all the money you’re saving by doing the work yourself and how much more quality you get for time and money invested.

Comments are closed.