Weaving & Knitting

One of these days I’ll take the time to change the header instead of using a generic one. I find it rather amusing since the car seems to be going in an endless circle through a tunnel. Feels kind of how my summer has been. As July is moving into the final weeks I’m struck with the desperate desire to slow.it.down. So many outside chores I still would like to tackle, like painting the picket fence that is sadly showing it’s years of neglect white picket fences just aren’t supposed to look grey and dingy. The garden is coming along with the good amounts of rain we’ve had this month. Pulling weeds from the beet bed was a breeze, so was pulling some young beets for supper. Mmm, chopped and briefly steamed then drizzled with a bit of butter and raw apple vinegar, mmm. When Ed generously scattered the beet seed I thought he was crazy but not now. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have never had one project on the loom for so long. Don’t even ask how long it’s been. Periodically I manage to sit at the bench and weave for half an hour. I wanted to have it finished today so I could dismantle the loom in preparation for painting the walls and putting a new floor down in the living room and kitchen.

So far I’ve woven six small pieces with one more to go.
Small weaving project

Remember the cotton Dolman a friend and I each decided to knit together this summer?Dolman Cotton Sweater Still knitting on it. I mostly work on it only during our Friday mornings together but it’s time to get a tad more serious about it if it’s to be worn before winter. Only the neck and shoulder shaping left for the back then it’s on to the front which should go much quicker. I suspect that this and the Smockin Socks will see quite a bit of action this coming week, perhaps more spinning and hair pin lace. Loads of Meetings ahead.

This coming week I’ll be at George Fox U attending the NW Yearly Meetings – our regional Quaker annual meetings – as one a Meeting rep. They can be quite interesting or long and, well great knitting time! I’ll be away from home most of next week. I’ll catch up with you all later.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Weaving & Knitting”

  1. “As July is moving into the final weeks Iโ€™m struck with the desperate desire to slow.it.down.”

    I could not have said it better myself. Summer flies by all to fast.

    Have a great week, get lots of knitting finished, see ya when ya get back!

  2. Enjoy your knitting time during the meetings! I’ve thought of bringing knitting to church meetings, but I’ve never done it. No one in my church seems to be very crafty, only two ladies knit that I know of. So I don’t know what people would think. And I am the pastor’s wife, so I can’t get away with stuff–everyone looks at me.

  3. Safe journey and yes, enjoy the knitting time and visiting friends.
    ‘desperate desire to slow.it.down.’ I hear you loud and clear!
    xox

  4. Listen pet, since the arrival of blogging, NONE of our picket fences have been painted. Or our flowerbeds weeded or our hedges trimmed… There has just been so much more to do.

    Go well, go safely. Noted your new URL.

Comments are closed.