Smokin’ Fearless Fiber!

It’s been a crazy past couple days. I will stew and ruminate over a decision until impulsively I bit off a bigger chunk than I can chew. Then I’m left gasping for breath.

In a rash flurry of the “it must be done NOW” mode I became cohorts with Rhonna , (she’s a whiz at this stuff!) in moving TheWeekendWhirls over to our new community, Weekend_whirls at Live Journal. If you’re into spinning please check it out. We’re still working out the bugs but it’s alive.

And now to Deb’s fabulous Fearless Fibers! Check out both her fibershop on etsy, and her blog.

I’ve been itching to use some of her fiber for several months, especially after seeing so many beautiful items designed by Anne of Knitspot. I have long been admiring Anne’s design savvy. If you’ve never read her blog please don’t wait any longer. She has a gift with words and pictures to go along with her math abilities.

Oh yes, socks. I’m not quite sure which came first; the socks, or the yarn. Socks for Aurora. No, yarn for Baby Faith. Hmmm. I think it’s Faith’s fault, but wait, no! it’s all Anne’s fault. You see, last fall I saw her pattern of a lacy dress for a little girl. Ever since I’ve wanted to make it but I don’t do lace. I have to if I want to make this dress. Fortunately the dress is for at least a toddler, Faith is only now crawling. I’ve got time. Umm, not really, not as slow as the stitches come off my needles.

No matter that Faith was a tiny babe in arms, I downloaded Anne’s sweet pattern. I’ve gazed at it, read over the directions, carried it around with me as I’ve fondled yarn but never found quite the yarn that clicked. Until browsing over at Fearless Fiber Etsy, when Citrus, a yellow yarn screamed, “Buy me!” I had no choice.

I don’t wear yellow. Don’t get me wrong. I love seeing yellow on people with deep tans, blond hair; rich brown skin, black hair. I have neither. Yellow makes me look sick, seriously, dog-sick. But suddenly I realized it was meant for Faith’s dress. But Aurora needs socks for her upcoming birthday. The next page over I. see. The Yarn – Midnight Passion! Less than a week later a box was waiting at the PO. Plump-full-of-goodness yarn inside.
Fearless Fiber Yarns

Since I’m such a slow knitter I decided I’d best get cracking on Aurora’s socks. I was able to get my hands on Anne’s Smokin Socks pattern. Aren’t they a fun knit! I’m loving the rhythm and patterning of the sixes.Knitspot’s Smokin’ Socks

I’m using two sets of #1 needles to knit these socks, sort of an experiment. I like dpns for socks. Brittany 5″ bamboo feels right in my hands and I don’t mind switching needles but after hearing so many people raving the merits of knitting socks on circulars I decided it was time to try again. Ed made me two #1/3.25mm 16″ circulars for this project. I should have asked for 24″ length – the 16″ length almost gets in my way but once I figured out how to ignore the resting pair it’s very workable. I still favor dpns, except for their tips – I much prefer using the sharp tips Ed puts on his needles – but it’s not too bad knitting socks on two circs.

I’m really enjoying knitting with Deb’s Fearless Fiber yarn, it’s very soft yet sturdy, she’s great to work with!

As a self-taught knitter I don’t have a great deal of experience reading patterns so it’s nice to have Anne’s pattern which I don’t have to puzzle over before understanding what I’m supposed to do next. I can hardly wait to have the lace skills to tackle her Morning Glory Pattern or her latest, the skimmering, shimmery Bee.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Smokin’ Fearless Fiber!”

  1. YUM, I love those colours together! What a pretty sock pattern! I’m with Charity, I can already see Faith’s sweet sunny face with the Citrus colour, it’s bright alright but also nice and soft.

  2. The yarn is lovely, and I can’t wait to see the dress — I know it’s going to be beautiful! And you’re totally right about knitspot’s patterns, I think I’m going to have to break down and get the new bee shawl. I’m glad to hear about your experience with two circulars, since I’m such a dpn person, but I keep thinking I should try another way…

  3. I tried toe up socks once–managed to get to the heel and gave up. I stick to dpns, leg first. I guess I’m too old to learn anything new! Your yarn for Faith is lovely. I see variations in the yellow which will be very pretty. I’m partial to lemony, sunny colours.

  4. Love the colors– and the socks for Aurora are shaping up nicely…and you are right, it has been a hectic couple of days…I’m out of breath trying to keep with you!

  5. oh that yarn looks yummy..you are doing well with those socks. I use a long circular for my socks, the magic eight, but I find that if the join is bad it makes life horrid so I usually use addi turbos..oops am I allowed to mention those? ;^)

  6. I am new to weaving. Only about 3 years. I have started to experiment with fibers as well as fabric and it really has become art. I make rugs for extra money but I haven’t been willing to give up my new things. If you have any suggestions on the best fibers to weave I would love to hear it.

Comments are closed.