Spinning a Move

Welcome to Fiberjoy’s new blog home! Nothing fancy yet. I need to figure out to make it cozy and friendly. Another challenge to overcome will be adding all the buttons and links.

***
It’s not fair to snap a picture of small portion of project from handspun yarn and expect people to guess what it was with nary a clue. It’s a sorry part of my nature to want to keep people guessing. Drives Ed crazy.

It will be a hairpin lace Ruana, pattern by Oat Couture. The only thing slowing me down is spinning the yarn. But since I’m in the Tour de Fleece it’s a great daily spin. Four completed strips are finished so far (three have been joined the fourth is laid out ready to loop onto the third) and one of our Jenkins hairpin looms used to make it.
Handspun Hairpin Lace Ruana
Each hairpin strip takes only an hour – it’s so quick and mindless. I’m so excited about the process and the looks that I just may end up making another Ruana, only the next time I plan to buy the yarn first.

Here are a couple pictures from the spinning day at the Mission Mills Museum in Salem last Wednesday.
Jason Lee House
This is the Jason Lee house which was built in 1841, the oldest frame house still standing in the Pacific Northwest. I realize that’s not old compared to places on the east coast and especially in Europe and other lands of old civilizations. Jason Lee set up a Methodist Mission on these grounds beginning in 1834. He had a strong sense of formal education, industry, and large scale agriculture on this fertile Willamette Valley ground.

These girls were two of the dozen participating in the week long “Pioneer Players Camp” at the museum. They were giggling and having fun dressed in period clothes, learning hand crafts, and playing old fashioned games.
colonial-girls.jpg

I have socks on the needles! Pictures next time.

I’d love it if you took the time to visit my older posts, dating back a year, which are <a href=”http://fiberjoy.blogspot.com”>here</a&gt;. In moving from Blogger to WordPress it seemed much simpler to leave everything there where the pictures are intact.  Thank You!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

18 thoughts on “Spinning a Move”

  1. Helloooooo! Love your new place, that photo in the headliner? is that one of yours?
    Hair pin lace!!! I don’t think that’s a ‘sorry’ part of your nature at all, in fact, I’m all about trying to guess..(ask Robin at the Knittincoop, heh) I will just keep trying and trying and trying. I’ve not seen enough hairpin lace though, but I had noticed the loops on the ends, just couldn’t figure it out.
    I’m adding you to my bloglines…right now.

  2. Welcome to WordPress! I just made the switch from blogger to wordpress myself. =} The ruana is looking lovely! I can’t wait to see it finished.

  3. Hi Wanda, like the new place, I’m always a bit stuck in my ways and fear change, although I do like a challenge, so fair enough if you move the whirls too I will just take it in my stride! Nice to see what you’e doing with that handspun, hairpin lace , now that sounds like a challenge!

  4. Love the new look – and the email thing is bugging me about blogger too – but it will be awhile before I make a change – after all I don’t do anything quickly you know 😀

  5. Knitting at that old farm house looks like it was plenty of fun!!! It’s so great to go back in time! 😀

    Love the handspun object in progress. I hope my handspun yarn is eventually nearly as pretty and even as yours one day!!!

  6. Ah HA! So it was hair pin all along!! It is really looking nice! (and so is the new blog!)

    The comment thingy is a bugger with blogger…but
    I don’t get so many comments that it bugs me enough me to move! Guess I am stuck in a rut after all these bloggin years…. If you move The Whirls, I will do my best to keep up…

  7. The hairpin lace looks beautiful. I’ve never seen it being created, so it looks pretty difficult to me. I see loops not attached to anything, which can make a knitter quite nervous! I’m coming down with one of those colds, hopefully not as bad as you and your friends had. Yesterday we had a lunch at church, I shook hands with some people and then ate. And someone’s germs found me. I’m a teacher, so I should have known better. Always wash your hands before you eat. Sniffle.

  8. Hi there, The new spot is nice. I might be able to help with the header and stuff if you need it.
    My first blog was blogger, then a wordpress one, then Joomla! but the Joomla! is integrated into the shop so it was the sensible way to go.
    One observation is that I think blogger is better for a group blog, I have a blogger one for my Yarn Yard Club because it’s familiar and relatively easy to “drive”, both for me as administrator, and for users. My husband has a multi-user wordpress one for his virtual indoor rowing team (as in Steve Redgrave cox-less fours) and it’s nothing like as straight forward as blogger for that particular application.

  9. Hello wanda…your new blog looks great and I love the re-enactment photos. I went to one recently and all the participants even spoke as if they were form that time and talked about their crafts, it was so lovely and interesting too!

  10. I’ve thought about the move myself, not sure yet though. The lace is lovely. One of those thingys was given to me and I have never used one. I like it.

  11. Oh my you have a new home ,very swish ;0
    I keep thinking of moving but still not sure if my brain can cope with more techno garb at the moment !!
    I totally love your lace and its fasicnating how you make it with the pin.
    Re the your post on my blog about the Llanwenog . It is a Welsh breed which very nearly became extinct but thankfully not now. I think it would be great if we could find a way to do a fleece/fibre sample swop. I do tend to use more fleece as its so readily and cheaply available here for me and it fun getting to know the breeders too who are passioantre about their own flock. If you would like me to send you some samples to try,I will willingly do so (washed and carded !!) just give me a shout . I have a lovely collection 😉

  12. and, please tell him that my stuent debbie warstler just ADORES the size 8s she bout to knit her morning glory . . . she can’t stop raving about them in class

Comments are closed.