Celebrating the momentous occasion of turning five merited something special and unique for our young grandson.  I’ve been long planning to knit him a Child Surprise Jacket but needed something far quicker. He’s loved the two hats I’ve knit him and I know he appreciates them in the cold winters where they live, so even though it’s the season of hot weather I rummaged through the stash for yarn I knew was in there.

A number of yarns ago CelticMemoryyarns Jo sent me some yarn from a grand haul she’d scored one day when out and about. I knew that one day the laceweight red yarn with a glimmering ply of gold thread would be perfect for a special project.  Stranding the red yarn with a soft fingering weight dark grey yarn set the stage for the look I was after.

Of all the pictures I took this is closest to the true colors, although it still didn’t capture the sparkle from the gold thread.
021
Loosely basing the shaping on the Southern Lights – Earflap Hat pattern. Made for an adult using chunky handspun yarn and US10 / 6mm needles – yep, loosely based! It was a springboard for forging ahead and figuring out the increases, decreases as I went based on my yarn, the size of needles I was using and the size of Wesley’s head.

The longest set of double-point needles on hand were US3 / 3.25mm which worked perfectly for the doubled yarns.

As I zoomed up from the earflaps to the place where Southern Lights called for joining in a round I veered directions and continued doing flat work for several more rows to lengthen the back of the head part. Next time I’ll lengthen it even more before joining to encase the whole head so it will ride low enough to entirely cover the neck.  I haven’t seen a picture of the little buddy wearing it but I suspect his neck will be exposed.

Crawling up the side of the head I had fun down small bits of sort-of strandwork where I dropped the red thread for one stitch periodically around the head. (Can you make out the subtle darker lines)

Wes Spider Hat side view

After braiding two 16 strand cords I embroidered a couple of fine little fellows in keeping with the theme.
Embr.Spider

Having properly bathed and dried the little hat went outside for a photo shot.

Careful! Don’t let it bite you!Wes Spider
Wesley loves playing spiderman and watching spiderman movies. This hat should see lots of wear.

